PDA

View Full Version : Insurance Costfor Young Driver

Tatey
20th May 2009, 10:23 AM
First time poster here.

I'm 19 and im just about to finish my first year of a mechanical engineering degree. I'm really interested in building myself a roadster, i've just purchased the book and i was just wondering about insurance since im such a young driver.

I've held my licence for over a year now and have a years driving experiance as a named driver, i'll be getting my own policy at the end of August.

Will an insurance company even contemplate insuring me? If so how much would people roughly estimate, bearing in mind i've been quoted £1150, with a £150 excess, for fully comp insurance on a 1.7Di Corsa on my own policy.

If getting insured for the year wouldn't be possible then what would the cost of getting insured for the occassional weekend be? I'd hate to finish building the car to then find out i can't drive it.

zrblue
20th May 2009, 11:39 AM
I too am pretty young, only 20.

Just finished my jig table and off to pick up some steel later today.

Ive had a brief squint about for insurance and some wont cover anyone till they are 21, some 25, and im sure theres a few who will cover drivers of any age...not sure how expensive those will be though.

Tatey
20th May 2009, 11:46 AM
Good to know someone else is in the same boat. I think i'll plan the buid now and start builing once i've got atleast £500 and if i finish it before i can insure it then i'll lend it to my dad, would be a nice present if u ask me.

bobbyh
20th May 2009, 12:08 PM
in the same clube hear been 20 i'm 21 in sep so by the time i finish my build i will be able to insured on the car but we will see

Tatey
20th May 2009, 12:15 PM
What have both of you budgeted for your builds, including the IVA test?

zrblue
20th May 2009, 12:53 PM