PDA

View Full Version : Engine Strip Down

Tatey
7th October 2009, 04:10 PM
I'm looking to strip down, clean up and paint my newly acquired 1.8 cvh engine, i've never seen it running, and i dont even know if it is a runner (i managed to get it for free), oh and the sump has a pickaxe shaped hole in the bottom of it.

Does anyone have any tips on how to strip it down, how far i should be stripping it down and what i should be doing to it once its stripped down?

Cheers

mark
7th October 2009, 04:22 PM
Firstly i hope that hole wasnt done when it was running and it lost all its oil :eek:

There are enough engines out there to use one that you have heard running and know the history of but if you really want to use it The first thing i would do is take the plugs out and try to turn it over by hand if it turns with out any strange noises and just the sound of compression its a good sign!

Im not a mechanic by trade so i will leave the rest for them to get their teeth into :D as they have years of experience and im sure later today you will have a list as long as your arm to check ;)

gus
7th October 2009, 05:02 PM
I had never heard my engine running. Bought the donor with a snapped cam belt. Why is it a non runner? Already stripped from car, or is there something else wrong with it? (Other than hole in sump).

If doing full strip down I would check the following things.

1. Head for belt valves, burnt valve seats. Replace valve stem seals anyway.
2. If the cam followers can be compressed by hand then they need replacing. (Two of mine where knackered.)
3. Check cam lobes for wear.
4. Check bores for scoring. Piston rings breaking up is a known fault with these.
5. Piston wobble. If excessive, might need rebore & oversize pistons.
6. Crank should rotate freely with head off. If notchy further strip down required. Could be main bearings gone.

I must add I am not a mechanic, a mate of mine rebuilt the engine for me. Started first time when we tried it.