PDA

View Full Version : Can i make this mod to my chassis.

LeonN
29th December 2009, 06:52 PM
first please let me say sorry for my awful little pic. i am not good with computer drawing relay. it might show.

i have swung my engine into the chassis today and the sump if fowling on the bottom rail of my engine bay. my book is not with me but it is the opposing rail to BR9. i was hoping to weld in another tube and cut the first out as in pic A apposed to pic B witch is standard. marrying it in with the chassis platte under the suspension mount and the engine mount. much like the way i have seen people rase the top of the bulkhead for taller gearboxes.

is this safe and does it make sense?

http://img204.imageshack.us/img204/6756/schassismob.th.jpg (http://img204.imageshack.us/i/schassismob.jpg/)

HandyAndy
29th December 2009, 09:10 PM
Hi Leon,
not totally sure i understand which tube you need to alter ?

which tube would you alter?

cheers
andy

LeonN
29th December 2009, 09:29 PM
thanks andy. 42 people it took before you point out i am not making sense.

hear is a pic of my bottom rails. i have added an arrow at the rail that needs a chop.

http://img705.imageshack.us/img705/9896/img0046arrow.th.jpg (http://img705.imageshack.us/i/img0046arrow.jpg/)

the pic in the first post is that section viewed from above.

hope it helps.

HandyAndy
29th December 2009, 09:40 PM
Hi Leon,
wasn,t a case of you not making sense mate, i just needed to know for sure which tube is causing you a problem before offering my opinion ;)

I,m not a structural engineer but that rail BR8 is in my opinion a very important part of the chassis as it creates the triangulated strength to the front of the chassis.......look where it joins the BR1 tube at the front end.... right upon the area that holds the suspension mounts.

If at all possible i would suggest at altering the sump to fit the chassis rather than changing the chassis to fit the sump, can you do that?