PDA

View Full Version : Opinions - scrap cylinder head?

silvertail
13th February 2010, 12:20 PM
Hi all,

Dismantled some of my engine's valve assemblies last night, and it looks like the valve guides have had a rough time - all four I checked have been broken!

http://img52.imageshack.us/img52/448/brokenvalveguide.jpg

In my opinion this is damage that can't be repaired (unless someone knows how to remove & replace the guide inserts) and so I should scrap the cylinder head. The other question is - how badly was the engine treated to allow this to happen to at least four valves?

However I'm an engine novice, so I thought I'd ask you loverly fellas :D what you think. Is it usable/fixable, or shall I use it to make a special ornamental table like they have on Top Gear? :rolleyes:

Cheers, Mike

twinturbo
13th February 2010, 01:01 PM
Yeah, if it's something like a 1.8 CVH head then bin it. If it's a 1930's Lagonda head then fix it.

TT

Bonzo
13th February 2010, 01:57 PM
The photo is a little fuzzy & gives very little clue as to what engine the head is off ;)

It has been my experience that this type of damage is typical of a cam belt failure at some point in it's life :rolleyes:

Sometimes when a cam belt fails, you'll be lucky & only bend a few valves .... Other times it will destroy some casting around the guides and FUBAR some of the piston crowns !!?? :eek:

At the end of the day, unless it is somthing realy exotic or rare, it'll be way more ecconomical to replace the head .

twinturbo
13th February 2010, 02:34 PM
From his other posts, I think He has a Twincam. They are not known for chain failures, but if it did then it would do a lot of damage..

TT

RAYLEE29
13th February 2010, 05:41 PM
hi, its no major problem to fit new valve guides just press out the old ones press in new ones and lightly recut valve seats if you cant diy then ask your local engine reconditioners for a price.
What engine is it?
Ray:)

silvertail
14th February 2010, 02:13 PM