PDA

View Full Version : hello everyone

xepowered
7th April 2010, 08:18 PM
hi to every one firstly great site

years ago when i was a boy i was reading my dads book how to build a sports car......(ron champion)

now i am 27 and i am gonna build myself a roadster (chris gibbs) i am a qualified mechanic fairly good workshop at home etc etc

a few questions i cant get hold off a sierra cheap (well what i call cheap any) way what is going rate for a mot failure not botherd about engine cause i have a xe redtop sitting on my garage crying out to be fitted to something i used to do a lot of nova/ corsa turbo/redtop conversions

any advice welcomed on how to approach the roadster build

i am in carlisle just for information

thanks again

jay

twinturbo
7th April 2010, 08:38 PM
Hi Jay

Sierra's are thin on the ground in the border city. I Can probably count all of them on my two hands.

MOT failuers should come in the region of 100-300 depending on condition. But there's been maybe 4-5 in a 60 mile radius since christmas and they have all seen just over 400 with an MOT.

Perhaps a recon mission to Douglases, or out to the guy at Brampton. All you realy need from the donor is the diff, shafts, hubs, drums, column and gearbox. The rest you will probably find from all sorts of locations..

XE's are quite rare for some reason, I think cos they make a few quid and a Zetec can be had for quite a few quid less..

Welcome by the way. Will be good to hook up and comapre notes!

TT

spud69
7th April 2010, 08:42 PM
Hello Jay,

Welcome to the forum to another builder, sounds like you've go your build in 2nd gear already.

Enjoy the forum it's a great place for advice and a bit of good crack..

Welcome....AndyH

Bonzo
7th April 2010, 08:43 PM
A very warm welcome to the forum.

Cheap Sierra's are hard to come by these days, mosk folk are wise and know what they are worth to KIt Car builders !!