PDA

View Full Version : So how do I make my bonnet?

Enoch
8th July 2010, 12:25 PM
Just finishing off some engine work and a few other bits so have started to think about my bonnet. I have to make a huge bulge in mine to clear the DOHC manifold and cam covers. I have never done anything like this before so am unsure of where to start. I know that all the edges need to be nice and rounded to keep mr IVA happy and so it does not end up looking pants.
I was thinking of making the bonnet with a hole in it so it sits over the engine ok then making up a wooden structure that can be screwed to the bonnet. I could then fibreglass over the wooden bits and finish off with some body filler. Does this sound completely mad? Is there an easier way? I am no good at panel bashing, I have tried it before and just ended up with saome badly dented bits of metal:(
Any thoughts or guidance would be much appreciated.
Enoch

mark
8th July 2010, 12:50 PM
I would start how you have described make the bonnet then cut a hole that clears everything then buy or make the scoop.

Have a look at some of the aftermarket scoops you can buy, you may get lucky and find one that covers up your plenum and looks nice, stick it on fill sand prep etc

Enoch
8th July 2010, 02:34 PM
Thanks Mark, I read a book once about making boats out of plywood and they used the wooden former covered in fibre glass idea. I thought it would work on the car but wanted a sanity check to see if any other ideas were floated.
Best and all that,
Enoch

ozzy1
8th July 2010, 02:55 PM
Dunno how big a bulge/vent you need but these might give you some ideas :confused:

http://www.shopwiki.co.uk/Lester-Universal-Bonnet-Vent,-Bonnet-Vents,-PA265A

http://www.m-99.co.uk/Car_Bodykits/Bonnet_Air_Vents/bonnet_air_vents.html

davidimurray
8th July 2010, 06:47 PM