PDA

View Full Version : sierra wiring loom

steve8274
7th September 2010, 05:43 PM
hi all.
just looking at my loom now which came from a 1992 1.8cvh sierra.
have labelled up few wires but was just wondering what people have kept and what people have removed.
a nice list would be nice and easier as i am a complete novice when it comes to car wiring.
also does anyone have a list of relays in sierra fuse box and their position number. not in my haynes manual.
any help appreciated
thanks
steve

twinturbo
7th September 2010, 05:48 PM
I plan to build from scratch, there is too much junk in the sierra loom.

TT

David_17
7th September 2010, 05:50 PM
Me too. Much easier and neater.

steve8274
7th September 2010, 10:22 PM
i wouldnt know where to start if doing from scratch so this is simplest way for me.
just need a list of what relays are in sierra fuse box and what their position is
thanks
steve

twinturbo
8th September 2010, 07:03 AM
there was a simple loom diagram done a couple of weeks back.

I can list the relays and their function ( althought that changes sometimes ) their location may be in the main fusebox or under the dash.

If you want simple then scrapping the sierra loom and building from scratch realy is the way to go.

TT

deezee
8th September 2010, 12:37 PM
I used up the old Sierra loom as
a) It costs nothing
b) It has all the correct plugs
c) Its got loads of relays and fuses
d) All the wiring is the correct thickness

BUT....
a) It takes time to shorten all the wiring
b) Working out the feeds in the fuse box took me 3 days!

davidimurray
8th September 2010, 08:26 PM
The simplified wiring diagram can be found here - http://www.haynes.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=4763&page=3

I attacked my sierra wiring loom the other night to make my custom loom as per my diagram in the link above.

In total - from the sierra loom I saved -

Reverse switch connector and wiring
Brake reservoir level connector and wiring
Starter Wiring
Alternator Wiring