Haynes Forums

Haynes Forums (http://www.haynes.co.uk/forums/index.php)
-   Donor cars (http://www.haynes.co.uk/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Will this do? (http://www.haynes.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=3676)

danblack87 16th February 2010 09:20 PM

Will this do?

Hi there,
I am new to all this and after reading the book feel I am ready to undertake a challenge and build my own trackday car.

My question is regarding my donor, I want to use a Mondeo 2.0l Zetec as my donor. Is this car an easy replacement for the sierra as my Donor and will I need to make any major amendments from the book at all?

I would really appreciate any info/help/suggestions etc.

Thanks alot in advance,

Dan.

twinturbo 16th February 2010 09:40 PM

Unfortunatly it's not an ideal donor at all.. The only 3 componnets you can possibly use are the engine, front calipers and master cylinder. Everything else is probably close to useless.

What year Modeo is it, most cars have the PATS anti theaft system which can be a pain.

TT

londonsean69 16th February 2010 09:43 PM

The biggest problem is;

Mondeo = front wheel drive
Sierra = Rear wheel drive

So, no rear diff, driveshafts, propshaft, the rear hubs won't be driven, the front hubs are driven

Plus, the chassis, including suspension geometry is setup for Sierra running gear.

danblack87 16th February 2010 10:07 PM

Okay, so it's a bit of a nightmare.
The only real reason for wanting to use the mondeo is the tunability and power of the 2.0l engine.

So, it would be easier to use a Sierra for the parts, but then how hard would it be to switch the engine from a sierra engine to a Zetec 2.0 or a Duratec engine.

Sorry to sound to specific, but I have set my heart on a lightweight trackday car and I am just looking at BHP figures, I want something I can tune to around 200/250 bhp.

Thanks in advance, Dan.

slimtater 16th February 2010 10:11 PM

Lightweight?

Trackday car?

BEC? :cool:

danblack87 16th February 2010 10:16 PM