Haynes Forums

Haynes Forums (http://www.haynes.co.uk/forums/index.php)
-   Electrics (http://www.haynes.co.uk/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Lights (http://www.haynes.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=13895)

old_bill 20th June 2016 05:35 PM

Lights
 
Trying to wire up headlights. I can get the sidelights to go on but, that's it. I can't get the headlights to come on. I've set up the relays and they work when power is applied direct at the terminals. Any help appreciated.

Any kind soul living in the Glasgow area who can come along and give me some direction would be appreciated. I'm nearly at the point of calling it a day and giving up.

RichardH 20th June 2016 06:04 PM

what is your donor? do you have any wiring diagrams?
if you can get side lights that sounds like you collumn switch has power, so the break is possibly between the switch and the relay, have a look at the diagrams to find the wire colour and trace it through.
i am in dunfermline i could take a trip through sometime if your stuck

old_bill 20th June 2016 07:26 PM

Lights
 
Hi Richard
Thanks for replying. I've been over the switch plugs with the multimeter. The connections to the relays are open and there is power going into the plugs at the switches. I've changed the indicator switch because it was faulty and replaced with another bought from eBay. My thinking now is that the new unit is faulty. I am toying with the idea trying to make one good unit from the two I have. But this has been a real steep learning curve for me and sometimes with electrickery logic doesn't seem to play a part.

RichardH 20th June 2016 08:43 PM

ok so you have power at the plug going in to the stalk, but nothing coming out?
i presume the wiring has four wires for the light circuit, power in, then three out side/dip/main?
are you only getting power out the side light wire? if so and you are unsure of the meter readings bridge from power in to each circuit in turn with a bit wire and see if your lights work, if they do your switches are faulty.
also when checking for power at relays are you using the ground for the relay or a chassis ground? could the relay ground be faulty? that would still show 12v if you went from the relay to a chassis ground and not the relay ground if you understand what i mean.

old_bill 21st June 2016 09:03 AM

Lights
 
Hi Richard
PM'd you my numbers. Easier to explain on the phone.

RichardH 21st June 2016 09:08 AM

Ok will call this evening

RichardH 22nd June 2016 07:45 AM

so looking at a diagram this morning, the headlamp switch on the dash gives power to the two headlamp relays and the main beam stalk, possibly brown/black wire. the yellow from each of the relays is power to the lights.
the high beam stalk feeds power out brown yelow? to the two high beam relays. they in turn give power out the white wire for main beam.

so your circuit should have four relays, light switch and stalk switch.

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=cv...3FtzEOEuayM%3A

old_bill 22nd June 2016 03:35 PM

Lights
 
Thanks Richard, got them working today :D :D

vmax1974 22nd June 2016 03:56 PM

Glad that you got them sorted at least you can move on now

RichardH 22nd June 2016 08:27 PM

glad they are working, now you have to post your mistake so we can laugh..... sorry learn from your mistake:)


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.