Haynes Forums

Haynes Forums (http://www.haynes.co.uk/forums/index.php)
-   Electrics (http://www.haynes.co.uk/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Mx5 Loom Help (http://www.haynes.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=14175)

garyout 2nd June 2018 09:39 AM

Mx5 Loom Help
 
Good morning all.


So I'm using the mx5 loom that I removed from the car and labelled up, I have placed it now across the chassis as I thought it was time to start stripping it I have plugged it all in connected the earths etc etc but I have no fuel pump or spark cranks over fine,

Now the only thing I haven't plugged in is the air flow meter because I cant find it surely this wouldn't cause this issue?

Just thought I would ask the question before I start digging.

Gary

twinturbo 2nd June 2018 07:37 PM

do you have an inertia switch somewhere?

TT

rolsty 2nd June 2018 10:13 PM

Hi Gary
I had to have all connections wired and the fuel pump wouldn’t go until it had at least 2 gallons of petrol in it - weird but true !
The only thing that caused me a bit of Agro was the crank sensor wire had 1 dodgy wire near the plug .
How far have you got ? Did you ever get the bodywork sorted ?

garyout 3rd June 2018 09:11 AM

Morning

TT
No inertia switch im afraid but good call


Rolsty

I did think of crank sensor so much so i have put another on, Like a dohnut i left my meter at work even though i left it out to remind me just to put it away at end of shift.

Getting there slowly got body from Equinox in the end and the quality i should of just gone there first as for the other muppet luckily for him i had a lot going on so it just got brushed under the carpet,

Hows your builds coming along?

Gary

twinturbo 3rd June 2018 03:59 PM

hope to finish tidying the garage over the next couple of weekends, and get the car out of the garage for the first time ever in 9 years YIKES. Got to get over the loom hurdle! Most stuff is first fix (Body, Suspension,engine, lights.) so if I do get going again It will be strip down time to tidy up any bits on the chassis before refitting it all.

Numplumb 10th June 2018 07:52 AM

Hi the airflow meter has a switch in it for fuel pump if it's a mk1

garyout 10th June 2018 09:22 AM

Morning all


Had a dig yesterday with multi meter and i found i only had 4 volts at crank sensor so traced wiring back and found a break with corrosion not bad considering car was running before it was stripped, looms been in loft since removal but hay ho.


repaired and now have a spark so onwards we go.

Gary


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.