Haynes Forums

Haynes Forums (http://www.haynes.co.uk/forums/index.php)
-   General discussion (http://www.haynes.co.uk/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Rosco's haynes Build (http://www.haynes.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=13517)

Rosco 26th October 2014 07:13 PM

Rosco's haynes Build "Warhawk"

Started my build last weekend, with the help of my Dad, just thought I would start a thread to share with you guys and get a few pointers along the way

A bit of background info, I'm 28, and a cnc miller by trade and my dads a carpenter so between us we get on with things ok, I've always loved cars and always wanted to build a kit car, I'm going down the bike engine route in a bare bones track chassis no luxury much to my dads disappointment, I'm going to work to the book and get it on the road as soon as I can, funds permitting, and then after that I will start replacing the uprights for cnc aluminium ones etc, but if I start doing those things now I will never get finished

First I got some sierra bits from a breakers yard for a bargain price,

I have stripped the hubs and they are at the blasters as we speak

Material ready to get started

Next we built a build table, we used a sheet of ply for the frame, and a sheet for the top

Rosco 26th October 2014 07:14 PM

Then got things marked out and started cutting

Front frame done

Rosco 26th October 2014 07:15 PM

I was surprised how quick it started to take shape considering we cut the box as we went along

Rosco 26th October 2014 07:15 PM

Next up the tunnel and cross braces

Then the diff cage

Rosco 26th October 2014 07:16 PM

Got my roll bar bent up yesterday by Tom at www.tube-bender.co.uk, not to far from my house, bent out of 2" cds tube, well pleased with it,
I'm aiming to meet msa spec but not sure if the rear stays can be angled out, I'm going for a full cage but just got the rear hoop until I get my
Scuttle mounted and see what room I've got