Haynes Forums

Haynes Forums (http://www.haynes.co.uk/forums/index.php)
-   Running gear (http://www.haynes.co.uk/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Can you shorten handbrake cables? (http://www.haynes.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=3382)

aerosam 2nd January 2010 06:07 PM

Can you shorten handbrake cables?
 
I just got some new handbrake cables for my (BMW) rear axle assembly and they are about twice as long as they need to be, obviously.

They are only sleeved halfway, as on the donor, the other half was inside the cabin. I can cut some length out of them here but how can I re-join them, as there is a threaded end that goes though the handbrake lever and is the adjustment point, which must be retained.

Thanks guys,

Sam.

twinturbo 2nd January 2010 06:26 PM

"wire rope" cable clamps available at most large hardware suppliers or of ebay.

TT

Talonmotorsport 2nd January 2010 07:43 PM

You could use brass or ali tubing and crush it. Pass both ends through the tube from each side,then turn them back on them selfs alone the outside of the tube and the pass back through the tube the as the first insertion. Crush with a vice total cost probaby nothing.

AshG 2nd January 2010 07:59 PM

i used these bad boys


twinturbo 2nd January 2010 08:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AshG (Post 28167)
i used these bad boys




Yep.. "wire rope" cable clamps

TT

AshG 2nd January 2010 09:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by twinturbo (Post 28178)
Yep.. "wire rope" cable clamps

TT

now i know the proper name for them lol :D

dogwood 2nd January 2010 09:33 PM

I know them as "bulldog grips"
hey ho here we go....:D :D

Bonzo 2nd January 2010 09:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dogwood (Post 28206)
I know them as "bulldog grips"

Me too David ;)

Even got a lin-bin in the workshop with a few in & that's what the Dyno-tape lable says :D :D

Must be our marine background mate ;)

dogwood 2nd January 2010 09:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bonzo (Post 28210)
Me too David ;)

Must be our marine background mate ;)


Probably....:rolleyes: :D

ozzy1 2nd January 2010 09:55 PM

Another option is to go to afishing tackle store and buy a wire trace crimp set the same thickness as your original cable .:D


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.