Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Chassis
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 31st October 2009, 09:15 PM

Thumbs up welding

hi im just getting started on my roadster and wondered if any one had welded there chassis with an arc welder or is it strictly a mig job also what setting you have been using your welder on as going to be teaching my self to weld

appreciate any comments cheers mark
Old 31st October 2009, 09:22 PM

Welcome to the forum Mark, & best wishes for your Roadster build.

before i started my build i had the free use of an arc welder but after asking a similar question to yours i went with the general feeling that as a "new welder" that mig is the way to go,

i went on a free 11 week (2hrs each wednesday night) college course to learn the basics of welding, maybe your local technical college offers similar course,s?? maybe worth enquiring.

all the best

Andy
Old 31st October 2009, 09:25 PM

I was going to arc weld my chassis, but found it too difficult to weld the 1.6mm thick steel together as i kept blowing holes.

After having a go with a MIG welder i defiantly knew that was the route i wanted to go down. So after i few months i bought a Clarke 150EN (used) and the rest of the bits needed for it, it cost me £200 in total including gas and wire. But i dont regret it in the slightest, as i can sell the MIG after i've finished my build if i need the money (i cant see that happening though)

If you can ARC weld really well and are very happy with welding 1.6mm thick steel then i'd say go for it, if however you are not that comfortable with it then go for a MIG, its so easy to pick up.

I hope my post have been of some help.

My Build Blog: http://www.haynes.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=2736 - Last Update: 31st October 2020

Total Spent so far: Stopped counting
Old 31st October 2009, 09:34 PM