Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Electrics
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th November 2011, 11:02 PM
ayjay ayjay is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Coedpoeth near Wrexham, North Wales
Posts: 737
Red face Problem looming

I've decided to act on advice given to chuck the sierra loom and get a custom one made.It will be tidier ,easier and save the old girl indoors a few beatings

Is Premier looms which peeps have recommended the one that has just moved to Spain?
Any others recommended so I can get a couple of prices?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15th November 2011, 11:46 PM
baz-r baz-r is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,462
Default

i had no contact back from premier

got a basic loom pack from svc made by rapidfit looms 165 inc vat
looks good and comes with all fuses and relays
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th November 2011, 12:35 PM
Coozer's Avatar
Coozer Coozer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hetton le Hole
Posts: 248
Default

Nothing wrong with using the Sierra loom imo.. it cuts down on costs.

I hung the thing on the garage wall in 2d fashion, stripped all the covering off, then set about tracing all the circuits back from the fuse box using the Haynes wiring diagram and a multimeter I didnt need and pulling them out.

What was left was very light (after I rearranged the fuse box and cut it in half) and had enough length to be able to trim the ends back as I fitted lights and what not.

Steve
__________________
MNR Vortx Build Diary

www.mymnrvortx.blogspot.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th November 2011, 04:02 PM
ayjay ayjay is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Coedpoeth near Wrexham, North Wales
Posts: 737
Default

Thanks coozer but its doing my head in

Me and electrickery just dont see eye to eye and after playing around with the old loom for weeks its driving me nuts.150.00 ish now seems very cheap.

I set myself a target for on the road next spring -----doing fuel lines at the minute, prop shaft on its way , brakes coming along-----i might as well bite the bullet . Loom is now consigned to its original place in a heap under the workbench.

Thanks all
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th November 2011, 06:52 PM
baz-r baz-r is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,462
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coozer View Post
Nothing wrong with using the Sierra loom
i was going to but there was lots of crispy insulation to wires around the engine bay and trans tunnel on my 93 sierra loom for some reason.

so for all the time and hassle plus nice neat and tidy new fuse box, relays and wires
its has to be a new loom for me
(note my rapid fit loom is all lucas colour codes)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th November 2011, 08:10 PM
robo robo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: scabs
Posts: 1,722
Smile

[quote=ayjay;67934]I've decided to act on advice given to chuck the sierra loom and get a custom one made.It will be tidier ,easier and save the old girl indoors a few beatings

Dont deny her indoors a good beating fashion the old sierra loom into one of these http://www.okokchina.com/Files/uppic57/Whip668.jpg that way nothing is wasted.

Bob
__________________
When The Results Disagree With The Theory: Believe The Results And Invent A New Theory
If I had two brains I,d still be a halfwit

The cave http://s1116.photobucket.com/user/my...deshow/mancave

The build http://www.haynes.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=12669
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.