Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > General discussion
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 21st May 2009, 07:59 PM

Default Welding Required

What are the thicknesses of the steel required to be welded (im still waiting for WH Smith to deliver my build book)?

I know the chassis tubes are 1.6mm, can this thickness be changed? I know it will increase the weight and cost slightly, but im sure it would be cheaper than spending £200+ on a mig welder, would there be anything wrong with using 2.5mm box?

Last edited by Tatey : 21st May 2009 at 08:59 PM.
Old 21st May 2009, 08:22 PM

Default 25 X 25 RHS box section

I would not even think of using 25X25 RHS box section to build a spaceframe chassis.

The weight gain would be unaceptable

Although I am not a race engineer, I can also forsee structural reasons as to why this material is not suitable.

If you really do not want to buy a MIG welder, why not tack your chassis with the stick welder, then hire or try and borrow a MIG to fully weld the chassis.
This will probably work out cheaper than the extra cost of RHS box.

www.roadster-builders.co.uk
Old 21st May 2009, 08:32 PM

I've done a few calculations based on using 1.6mm thick box and 2.5mm box. Based on using 36m of box and 1.6mm thick it comes to 42.4kg and using 2.5mm box it comes to 63.67. This is quite a large % increase in mass but in the grand scheme of things it isnt much since someone of the larger build than me could easily add double that mass.

There isnt that much of a price change. 1.6mm box is £14 per 6 m, i havent got a price for 2.5mm 25x25 but 3mm 30x30 is £20 for 6m so im guessing 2.5 25x25 would be about £17-£18 so thats £24 more maximum for the steel used.
Old 21st May 2009, 08:54 PM

i understand in a way what you are saying but have to ask WHY? the design of the chassis has had structural tests etc & has no need for the extra thickness steel that you suggest