Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Running gear
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10th January 2011, 07:50 PM

Default Suspension

Hi everyone, I've progressed well with my chassis and I thought I'd start looking around to source all of the bits I need for the suspension which will be my next step. Being a complete novice I'm having a bit of trouble working out what exactly I'll need for the suspension. I don't want to attempt making my own wishbones as they look quite complicated and sourcing the materials quite difficult / expensive so I thought I'd just buy those ready made. I'm considering one of the kits saturn do (http://www.saturnsportscars.co.uk/st...d&productId=85 including the bolts, maxi, and ball joints) and if I take this route is the only other item I have to get is the dampeners? (noticed that saturn also sell the protech ones). The book also talks about mushroom inserts and having the uprights from the sierra machined so is this something I need in addition to the "kit" from saturn?

Last edited by brainbug007 : 10th January 2011 at 07:52 PM.
Old 10th January 2011, 08:30 PM

You will need all the parts you listed mushrooms included, as you mentioned all available from saturn

The bottom ball joint hole on the sierra upright needs reaming to accept the maxi ball joint, im assuming this is what you mean by machining

You can do this with a hand reamer from axminster tools, the same reamer is also going around members of the forum via the post, once people have used it they post it on to the next person who needs it

With regards to dampers if you can afford it go for the protech ones, i dont think they perform any better having drove my own car on gaz shocks and someone elses on protech but the build quality looks much better on the protech
Old 10th January 2011, 08:57 PM