Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Announcements
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #361  
Old 9th March 2015, 02:08 PM
CTWV50's Avatar
CTWV50 CTWV50 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,297
Default

OK I think I know what's happening. We have installed the header tank on the wrong side of the thermostat. So the thermostat opens when warm, traps the water in the header tank when it closes and doesn't let it back down after cooling as it has closed. Maybe?
Reply With Quote
  #362  
Old 9th March 2015, 02:16 PM
CTWV50's Avatar
CTWV50 CTWV50 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,297
Default

Useful link that I'm still reading.

http://www.miata.net/garage/CoolingSystemProblems.html
Reply With Quote
  #363  
Old 9th March 2015, 03:00 PM
Davidbolam Davidbolam is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gosforth, Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 856
Default

I get air trapped in front of the thermostat as this is higher than the radiator. It is slightly lower than the expansion bottle.

I have a bleed screw here to help get the air out.

I was thinking about moving my header connection to just in front of the thermostat.

Paul: do you think it would be better to connect it to the bottom hose?

David
__________________
Click to see my build photos on Flikr

http://www.flickr.com/photos/67112582@N03/

Saturn MX5 Based Chassis, Limited Slip Diff & 2.4 Quick Rack.

Build cost.... seems to be spending more on tools than car bits at the moment! (they will be handy in the future though).
Car iva'd and passed 15/08/2014. Finished weight 572kg.
Reply With Quote
  #364  
Old 9th March 2015, 06:56 PM
Numplumb Numplumb is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 191
Default

The radiator I'm using is a Polo rad which doesn't have a cap is this the rad overs are using?
I haven't started mine up yet I have mine connected the same as you Guy's so I expect mine is going to do the same.
Regards Mick
Reply With Quote
  #365  
Old 9th March 2015, 06:59 PM
Davidbolam Davidbolam is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gosforth, Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 856
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Numplumb View Post
The radiator I'm using is a Polo rad which doesn't have a cap is this the rad overs are using?
I haven't started mine up yet I have mine connected the same as you Guy's so I expect mine is going to do the same.
Regards Mick
I have used the same radiator

David
__________________
Click to see my build photos on Flikr

http://www.flickr.com/photos/67112582@N03/

Saturn MX5 Based Chassis, Limited Slip Diff & 2.4 Quick Rack.

Build cost.... seems to be spending more on tools than car bits at the moment! (they will be handy in the future though).
Car iva'd and passed 15/08/2014. Finished weight 572kg.
Reply With Quote
  #366  
Old 9th March 2015, 07:04 PM
Numplumb Numplumb is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 191
Default

That's good then I used a Polo expansion bottle with the bottom connection tee into heater hose connection and top connection taken to top of rad does that sound okay?
Regards Mick.
Reply With Quote
  #367  
Old 9th March 2015, 07:16 PM
CTWV50's Avatar
CTWV50 CTWV50 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,297
Default

I think a bottle feed to the top hose that goes from the front of the engine to the rad would duplicate the factory system best.
Reply With Quote
  #368  
Old 9th March 2015, 07:42 PM
Numplumb Numplumb is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 191
Default

Not sure what you mean if you are talking about the top pipe from the expansion bottle this joins the rad next to the top hose so taking it to the top hose would be the same, if you mean the bottom connection of the expansion bottle this would be going up hill to the top hose I think so it would not want to fill the system.
Regards Mick.
Reply With Quote
  #369  
Old 9th March 2015, 08:06 PM
CTWV50's Avatar
CTWV50 CTWV50 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,297
Default

I hope this image makes it clearer. So rather than taking the bottom header tank feed to the heater hoses. Take it over to the top hose I have marked with a red line.

Reply With Quote
  #370  
Old 9th March 2015, 09:24 PM
Numplumb Numplumb is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 191
Default

I will have a look and see if I can do that but I don't think that there is room to fit the tank higher than the rad
Regards Mick.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.