Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Electrics
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th November 2008, 07:15 PM
dogwood's Avatar
dogwood dogwood is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 899
Default Horn wiring

Just been doing some wiring.
Wired in the horn but it didn't work.
I think I know the answer, but is the Sierra horn button earth switched?

David
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17th November 2008, 07:46 AM
dogwood's Avatar
dogwood dogwood is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 899
Default

Yes the horn button is earthed switched,
But the relay switiches the live to the horn

David
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th November 2008, 06:27 PM
les g les g is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: S.E.Cornwall
Posts: 760
Default

hi dogwood
if i remember its done like that so you dont have a live wire flapping about with potential for a short
ie if the wire goes to ground/earth the horn sounds if a live went to ground you have sparks ,melting wires and blowing fuses and the potential for bigger problems
hth
les g
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th January 2009, 07:55 PM
nexus446 nexus446 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rotherham
Posts: 11
Default

yes the switched earth at the button just provides the earth circuit for the primary side of the horn relay, the live is already there and is not switched, only the secondary circuit is live when the relay is active. (closed)

Chris.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.