Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Announcements
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #491  
Old 4th July 2018, 01:26 PM
norton norton is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 418
Default

Quick question about the wiring for my mk1 mx5 alternator.


It has 3 wires, one the main feed to the battery and two others in a multi plug.
I understand one will be a permanent 12v feed for the exciter circuit but the other?

I found this picture.




Which includes a warning lamp however my digi dash can monitor its own power supply and put the light on at any voltage I determine so I wouldn't need that.


So is it fair to say, assuming I've understood the picture I need two 12v inputs (one switched with ignition and the obvious main power output?
Reply With Quote
  #492  
Old 9th July 2018, 01:32 PM
norton norton is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 418
Default

Another problem if someone could take a look please.

The CBS fuse/relay module won't let me supply the hazard light relay with 12v when ign is off with my ignition switch config.

Will the (crude) diagram below work? I have it wired nearly this way at the moment except the hazard relay is on the same power source as the regular indicator relay and there is no diode.

I can make a direct to battery 12v supply to the relay without issue but what I don't want is that then somehow powering up the rest of the electrics via the indicator circuit if I were to say operate the hazard switch with the indicator switch engaged to either side hence the diode.

Reply With Quote
  #493  
Old 9th July 2018, 05:24 PM
Numplumb Numplumb is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 157
Default

Are you using the mx5 flasher unit?.
The original flasher is fed from two separate fuses, hazard fuse which is hot at all times and meter fuse which is hot in start and run.
Regards Mick.
Reply With Quote
  #494  
Old 9th July 2018, 05:30 PM
norton norton is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 418
Default

No Iím using my own loom and a fuse/relay board from car builders solutions. I need to reconfigure it thoughwith a separate permanent feed for the hazards but want to be sure my suggestion above is correct.
Reply With Quote
  #495  
Old 9th July 2018, 06:19 PM
Numplumb Numplumb is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 157
Default

I can't read your writing on your diagram.
Have you googled flasher unit circuits and hazard switches? I think that you have to supply most hazard switches from both a permanent and a switched with ignition supply, the switch is fed via the ignition supply when off which feeds straight through to the indicators and when the hazard switch is turned on it isolates that supply and feeds via the permanent one if that makes any sense.
Regards Mick.
Reply With Quote
  #496  
Old 9th July 2018, 06:28 PM
norton norton is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 418
Default

The module https://www.carbuildersolutions.com/...-wiring-module has two simple flasher relays with a single feed and output each. One is for the indicators and the other for the hazard function. One is fed by a hot when ign is on feed and the other for the hazards I need to rig up with a direct to battery feed but I need to do that without energising the rest of the circuits hence the crude diagram. Iím awaretypical hazard switches and relays can be much more complex than this but this is what I have.
Reply With Quote
  #497  
Old 25th July 2018, 08:16 PM
norton norton is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 418
Default

I built a diffuser.





And went for some better wheels. My car was too low wit the 185/6/13 tyres.



I have the hazards workng along wth all the other body electrics. I think I know what to do with the excter wire now which I'll get to. Te megasquirt is nearly sorted too but atm i have no crank signal. I'm just waiting for osme resistors to arrive so I can add a pullup to the crank sensors signal wire. opefully that'll get iti working.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.