Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Electrics
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20th June 2016, 05:35 PM
old_bill old_bill is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 116
Angry Lights

Trying to wire up headlights. I can get the sidelights to go on but, that's it. I can't get the headlights to come on. I've set up the relays and they work when power is applied direct at the terminals. Any help appreciated.

Any kind soul living in the Glasgow area who can come along and give me some direction would be appreciated. I'm nearly at the point of calling it a day and giving up.
__________________
Bill

http://www.flickr.com/photos/old_bill/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th June 2016, 06:04 PM
RichardH RichardH is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: fife scotland
Posts: 177
Default

what is your donor? do you have any wiring diagrams?
if you can get side lights that sounds like you collumn switch has power, so the break is possibly between the switch and the relay, have a look at the diagrams to find the wire colour and trace it through.
i am in dunfermline i could take a trip through sometime if your stuck
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th June 2016, 07:26 PM
old_bill old_bill is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 116
Default Lights

Hi Richard
Thanks for replying. I've been over the switch plugs with the multimeter. The connections to the relays are open and there is power going into the plugs at the switches. I've changed the indicator switch because it was faulty and replaced with another bought from eBay. My thinking now is that the new unit is faulty. I am toying with the idea trying to make one good unit from the two I have. But this has been a real steep learning curve for me and sometimes with electrickery logic doesn't seem to play a part.
__________________
Bill

http://www.flickr.com/photos/old_bill/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th June 2016, 08:43 PM
RichardH RichardH is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: fife scotland
Posts: 177
Default

ok so you have power at the plug going in to the stalk, but nothing coming out?
i presume the wiring has four wires for the light circuit, power in, then three out side/dip/main?
are you only getting power out the side light wire? if so and you are unsure of the meter readings bridge from power in to each circuit in turn with a bit wire and see if your lights work, if they do your switches are faulty.
also when checking for power at relays are you using the ground for the relay or a chassis ground? could the relay ground be faulty? that would still show 12v if you went from the relay to a chassis ground and not the relay ground if you understand what i mean.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st June 2016, 09:03 AM
old_bill old_bill is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 116
Default Lights

Hi Richard
PM'd you my numbers. Easier to explain on the phone.
__________________
Bill

http://www.flickr.com/photos/old_bill/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st June 2016, 09:08 AM
RichardH RichardH is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: fife scotland
Posts: 177
Default

Ok will call this evening
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd June 2016, 07:45 AM
RichardH RichardH is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: fife scotland
Posts: 177
Default

so looking at a diagram this morning, the headlamp switch on the dash gives power to the two headlamp relays and the main beam stalk, possibly brown/black wire. the yellow from each of the relays is power to the lights.
the high beam stalk feeds power out brown yelow? to the two high beam relays. they in turn give power out the white wire for main beam.

so your circuit should have four relays, light switch and stalk switch.

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=cv...3FtzEOEuayM%3A
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22nd June 2016, 03:35 PM
old_bill old_bill is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 116
Thumbs up Lights

Thanks Richard, got them working today
__________________
Bill

http://www.flickr.com/photos/old_bill/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22nd June 2016, 03:56 PM
vmax1974's Avatar
vmax1974 vmax1974 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Teesside
Posts: 1,140
Default

Glad that you got them sorted at least you can move on now
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22nd June 2016, 08:27 PM
RichardH RichardH is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: fife scotland
Posts: 177
Default

glad they are working, now you have to post your mistake so we can laugh..... sorry learn from your mistake
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.