Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Electrics
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd July 2016, 07:53 PM
Wain Wain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Hull
Posts: 68
Default mx5 console voltages

So i failed the IVA recently on a few minor points. One of the points is that the console back light and main beam symbol dont illuminate. The bulbs looks ok, i have swapped some over to no avail. According to the wiring diagram there is a red wire which goes from the light stalk to the console, when this is on it outputs 0.2volts. Is this the issue? Should this not be outputing 12volts? Can anyone confirm what voltage is passing to the main beam bulb on their console from a mx5??
__________________
One day it will be on the road......
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3rd July 2016, 09:37 PM
RichardH RichardH is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: fife scotland
Posts: 177
Default

just had this issue and thanks to garyt got it solved you need the dimmer in the circuit from the donor.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd July 2016, 10:01 PM
Wain Wain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Hull
Posts: 68
Default

The dash dimmer switch? Got a feeling this connector has been stripped out of the loom....
__________________
One day it will be on the road......
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd July 2016, 10:50 PM
RichardH RichardH is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: fife scotland
Posts: 177
Default

my donor is a 99 mk2 1.8 dash didnt light up without it, also the ecu looks for reading through bulbs to make things work properly, im currently fighting with the alternator, charge light relies on temp sensor in the air filter housing!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd July 2016, 11:05 PM
Wain Wain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Hull
Posts: 68
Default

Right i will give the switch ago. I have heard of people going to carbs and after market ECU and the alternator not working because the air sensor was removed. Sometimes wonder if it would of just been easier to start from the beginning and make my own loom!
__________________
One day it will be on the road......
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th July 2016, 01:56 PM
flyerncle flyerncle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: gateshead,near cobbly bit of A1 North
Posts: 3,188
Default

You could try and find an alternator that is the same size and does not rely on ecu for info to make it charge,there is a specialist in tyne and wear in Rolands Gill they may be able to advise you.
__________________
Cost : Little as possible.
Thanks : To those who by their generosity my build has progressed.
Its a handmade sports car not a flaming kit car !!!


If at first you dont succeed,avoid skydiving...

No parachute require to freefall,only if you want to do it twice.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4th July 2016, 02:04 PM
RichardH RichardH is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: fife scotland
Posts: 177
Default

there is plenty info on the web about using a mk1 mx5 alternator and changing the wiring to suit
to be honest i can see me going to a megasquirt or similar aftermarket ecu eventually, the issue is my donor mx5 a mk2 uses the dash and ecu for everything from speedo to charge lights to engine management it makes life so much easier to retain it all for iva test

Last edited by RichardH : 4th July 2016 at 02:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th July 2016, 02:17 PM
Wain Wain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Hull
Posts: 68
Default

I have ordered a switch off ebay so i will give that a go at weekend. Just need to get my speedo working now. Think i wired it up wrong, checked the diagram and i now just have the orange and yellow wires running straight from the console to the speed sensor on the gearbox, i hope this will just work!
__________________
One day it will be on the road......
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 4th July 2016, 02:20 PM
Wain Wain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Hull
Posts: 68
Default

I have retained most of the wiring for now to get it through IVA. An aftermarket ECU and carbs is a project in the future once it is on the road. I have been building it for a few years and just want to drive it now!
__________________
One day it will be on the road......
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.