Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Running gear
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd April 2017, 08:45 AM
Dave F's Avatar
Dave F Dave F is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wakefield
Posts: 124
Default Break Pressure switch

Hi all.
I know the what most have seem to do it is use a 'T' piece but I was wondering if there is any reason I could't use one of these: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/152207740920 I'm using the standard MX5 master cyclinder and on front nearside output there is a reducer/adaptor with a banjo bolt which my plan is to replace with this. I'm also thinking a similar setup for the clutch which had a wilwood style MC, that, I'm not 100% on yet.
As always your advice is apreciated
__________________
God loves a trier

Actual cost so far = Have chosen to stop counting incase I incriminate myself -
Cost ive told the wife = A hell of a lot less than I have spent. -
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23rd April 2017, 08:53 AM
garyout garyout is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Gosport Hampshire
Posts: 141
Default

Morning

I think most people fit a normal switch instead of a hydraulic one as they require a bit more effort to bring the light on. I'm sure others will be along soon with there opinion.

Gary
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd April 2017, 09:39 AM
norton norton is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 434
Default

I have one that's actuated by fluid pressure and there is a delay between putting the brakes on and the switch connecting. I do plan to get rid of it and fit a conventional mechanical switch despite the added aggro.

If I was an IVA tester I wouldn't pass it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd April 2017, 01:34 PM
garyt garyt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Dufftown, scotland
Posts: 480
Default

Hi I used a mini one into a T piece on its side, clear as mud !!!! Brake fluid north / south pressure switch horizontal as if upright can hold air
No noticeable delay in braking to lights on
Oh and I separated the reservoir from my m/c ( mx5) and remotely mounted it on the o/s top rail made bleeding the brakes a dawdle after trying allmanner of things previously ( pictures in my build thread)
__________________
remember we are not mad just creatively insane
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd April 2017, 01:52 PM
Dave F's Avatar
Dave F Dave F is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wakefield
Posts: 124
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garyout View Post
Morning
I think most people fit a normal switch instead of a hydraulic one as they require a bit more effort to bring the light on. I'm sure others will be along soon with there opinion.
Gary
I was thinking about a mechanical switch but not the easiest with my pedal box design.


Quote:
Originally Posted by norton View Post
I have one that's actuated by fluid pressure and there is a delay between putting the brakes on and the switch connecting. I do plan to get rid of it and fit a conventional mechanical switch despite the added aggro.

If I was an IVA tester I wouldn't pass it.
I've had many bikes with these on and they require very little pressure and have zero delay so hopefully that's not going to be an issue, maybe the mini ones require more pressure. This is my thinking anyway
__________________
God loves a trier

Actual cost so far = Have chosen to stop counting incase I incriminate myself -
Cost ive told the wife = A hell of a lot less than I have spent. -
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23rd April 2017, 03:05 PM
garyout garyout is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Gosport Hampshire
Posts: 141
Default

Dave

I do agree I have used them switches on bikes ideal for when fitting rear sets.. your have to let me know how it goes as my pedal set up will be pita to get a mechanical switch on

Gary
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd April 2017, 05:23 PM
Dave F's Avatar
Dave F Dave F is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wakefield
Posts: 124
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garyt View Post
Hi I used a mini one into a T piece on its side, clear as mud !!!! Brake fluid north / south pressure switch horizontal as if upright can hold air
No noticeable delay in braking to lights on
Oh and I separated the reservoir from my m/c ( mx5) and remotely mounted it on the o/s top rail made bleeding the brakes a dawdle after trying allmanner of things previously ( pictures in my build thread)
I'm going to do that setup for my clutch now as finding the correct tread size is proving more hassle than it's worth. I too was planning to place the reservoir high, interested how you did it, I was thinking some barbed connectors to 8mm fuel pipe, any thoughts?

Quote:
Originally Posted by garyout View Post
Dave

I do agree I have used them switches on bikes ideal for when fitting rear sets.. your have to let me know how it goes as my pedal set up will be pita to get a mechanical switch on

Gary
Will let you know but will be a while as need to order the flexi's once all the coppers in.
__________________
God loves a trier

Actual cost so far = Have chosen to stop counting incase I incriminate myself -
Cost ive told the wife = A hell of a lot less than I have spent. -
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23rd April 2017, 05:51 PM
garyt garyt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Dufftown, scotland
Posts: 480
Default

Yes that's what I used barbed connectors and flexi pipe to the reservoir
Yes it was a strange thread on the clutch m/c I think it was std on the slave but the rally design one on the bulkhead was something like 7/16
Will have a look and see if I still have the sizes of the phone but will see if I can pop a pic up later
__________________
remember we are not mad just creatively insane
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23rd April 2017, 06:08 PM
Dave F's Avatar
Dave F Dave F is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wakefield
Posts: 124
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garyt View Post
Yes that's what I used barbed connectors and flexi pipe to the reservoir
Yes it was a strange thread on the clutch m/c I think it was std on the slave but the rally design one on the bulkhead was something like 7/16
Will have a look and see if I still have the sizes of the phone but will see if I can pop a pic up later
A picture would be apreciated, ordered what I need, I think, so I can get the copper in. No doubt I will have forgotten something or brought the wrong size of something, only thing I haven't got is the bulkhead fittings for the flexi's as I assume they depend on the flexi's and I haven't really researched them yet
__________________
God loves a trier

Actual cost so far = Have chosen to stop counting incase I incriminate myself -
Cost ive told the wife = A hell of a lot less than I have spent. -
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24th April 2017, 01:07 PM
garyt garyt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Dufftown, scotland
Posts: 480
Default

ok hopefully here are a few pics of trials n tribulations
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 002 (2).jpg (38.8 KB, 18 views)
File Type: jpg 003 (4).jpg (34.7 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg 20140813_192001 (1).jpg (41.7 KB, 17 views)
__________________
remember we are not mad just creatively insane
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.