Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Bodywork and interior
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st August 2009, 11:22 PM
onedayTM onedayTM is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tamworth, Staffordshire.
Posts: 207
Default Ali body panels

hi all,
can anyone tell me whether the Ali panel at the rear comes up and over onto the top of chassis plates CP3/4, the upper rear suspension mounts. If so is this plate fully covered or is just up to the roll bar mounting plate.
Do you then seal around the edges with sealant?
cheers
tony.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st August 2009, 11:29 PM
HandyAndy's Avatar
HandyAndy HandyAndy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: cleveland
Posts: 3,917
Default

the way i intend to do mine is just up to the level of the top rail, without going over .

thats how i have taken the info in the book, also the measurements of the back panel seem to indicate this, (tho haven,t got the book in front of me )

cheers
andy
__________________
Flat Pack Chassis Kits for sale, contact me at andyroadster@yahoo.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd August 2009, 09:07 AM
dogwood's Avatar
dogwood dogwood is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 899
Default

This is how I did mine.
Yes I did seal all the edges, I used a black sikaflex.







HTH David
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd August 2009, 03:01 PM
HandyAndy's Avatar
HandyAndy HandyAndy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: cleveland
Posts: 3,917
Default

David....

i like that hmmm....
is it 1 piece from the base rails up & over the top of CP3/4 ?

cheers
andy
__________________
Flat Pack Chassis Kits for sale, contact me at andyroadster@yahoo.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd August 2009, 04:03 PM
flyerncle flyerncle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: gateshead,near cobbly bit of A1 North
Posts: 3,188
Default

David,have you fitted an extra mount to the diff rear bracket ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd August 2009, 07:56 PM
dogwood's Avatar
dogwood dogwood is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 899
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HandyAndy View Post
David....

i like that hmmm....
is it 1 piece from the base rails up & over the top of CP3/4 ?

cheers
andy
Hi Mate,
Yea, one piece.
I cut it over long and bent it over inplace
then bolted the roll bar over it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by flyerncle View Post
David,have you fitted an extra mount to the diff rear bracket ?
Yea I have fitted the extra bracket at the rear like the donor Sierra.
I don't know if it needed it, just belt and braces I suppose.

David
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.