Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Electrics
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19th August 2015, 08:05 AM
metal matt metal matt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: pembrokeshire
Posts: 214
Default LED rear lights

Right chaps I could do with a little help or advice. I'm no sparky so this might be easy for someone to answer. I went to fit my rear light's last night into my rear arches, and where they would be the wiring will be very close to the wheel (witch I don't like). So 2 option. 1 Modify my rear arches again to bring my current light out a bit to clear the wheel or slim LED lighting. So had a look around and found some nice rear LED light clusters. what is the story with needing to fit resisters to clusters? I have read that you need to fit a resistor to a single LED but I cant find anything on clusters so could someone help me out before I go buying some


https://www.flickr.com/photos/124541083@N02/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th August 2015, 09:11 AM
Davidbolam Davidbolam is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gosforth, Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 856
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metal matt View Post
Right chaps I could do with a little help or advice. I'm no sparky so this might be easy for someone to answer. I went to fit my rear light's last night into my rear arches, and where they would be the wiring will be very close to the wheel (witch I don't like). So 2 option. 1 Modify my rear arches again to bring my current light out a bit to clear the wheel or slim LED lighting. So had a look around and found some nice rear LED light clusters. what is the story with needing to fit resisters to clusters? I have read that you need to fit a resistor to a single LED but I cant find anything on clusters so could someone help me out before I go buying some


https://www.flickr.com/photos/124541083@N02/

Hi

If you are fitting led indicators you need a resistor otherwise they flash too fast.

If you are using mx5 electrics then scov had a work around which I used by removing on of the resistors from the relay

The details are on his build thread and were very easy to follow

David
__________________
Click to see my build photos on Flikr

http://www.flickr.com/photos/67112582@N03/

Saturn MX5 Based Chassis, Limited Slip Diff & 2.4 Quick Rack.

Build cost.... seems to be spending more on tools than car bits at the moment! (they will be handy in the future though).
Car iva'd and passed 15/08/2014. Finished weight 572kg.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th August 2015, 08:01 PM
garyt garyt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Dufftown, scotland
Posts: 480
Default

As I have a combination of bulbs and leds I used the RDX relay, sorted
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th August 2015, 03:15 PM
james3004's Avatar
james3004 james3004 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Haddenham, Cambridge
Posts: 479
Default

I modified my standard Sierra flasher relay with a 100k potentiometer from maplin for about 70p.

Then turned it until I had flash rate that I was happy with
__________________
--- James ---

IVA passed 20 June 2017
Flickr Album
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th August 2015, 02:15 PM
Coozer's Avatar
Coozer Coozer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hetton le Hole
Posts: 248
Default

You only need to increase the load for the indicators. As said a resister inline or simply replace the flasher unit with an LED one!
__________________
MNR Vortx Build Diary

www.mymnrvortx.blogspot.com/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th August 2015, 07:52 AM
metal matt metal matt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: pembrokeshire
Posts: 214
Default

Thanks for the info guys. But I have put a lot of thought into this and have decided to go with keeping the light's I have to match the others and to modify my rear arches as I have already got the gear around the garages, its just my time. Have a look at my pics and let me know you thought before I go cutting big holes in my arches.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/124541083@N02/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30th August 2015, 09:13 AM
metal matt metal matt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: pembrokeshire
Posts: 214
Default

Thank for the tip Steve that sound like a really good idea. Hopefully I will get into the garage to day and I will have a look. If it does work I will be able to shorten my pods a bit so they don't look so bad.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/124541083@N02/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th March 2016, 05:13 PM
Wain Wain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Hull
Posts: 68
Default

Has anyone got a link to the relay you are refering to? I have a mazda wiring loom and the indicators hyper flash. I have used load resistors which solve the indicator issue but when the hazard lights are in the side led indicators hardly light up. Any suggestions?
__________________
One day it will be on the road......
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20th March 2016, 06:28 PM
garyt garyt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Dufftown, scotland
Posts: 480
Default

hi I used one like this as I have a mix of led / bulbs

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LAND-ROVER...AOSwq5lTmNd m

hth
__________________
remember we are not mad just creatively insane
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20th March 2016, 08:02 PM
Wain Wain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Hull
Posts: 68
Default

Thank you garyt. Is that a straight replacement or did you modify the loom for it to fit in?
__________________
One day it will be on the road......
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.