Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Chassis
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th November 2010, 10:21 AM
sirtommy sirtommy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 14
Default Zetec chassis dimensions

I have measured the zetec engine (whilst in my escort) as best as i can and cant see any major problems. However i wondered if anyone had put a zetec in a haynes roadster which required modification to the chassis? p.s it is a phase 2 engine and i am going to use it with a type 9 box. Regards, Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 4th November 2010, 10:27 AM
HandyAndy's Avatar
HandyAndy HandyAndy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: cleveland
Posts: 3,917
Default

Hi Tom,

The Zetec engine is quite a popular engine in Roadsters,
You may find that you will need to alter the thermostat housing/position as it sits quite close to part TR8, tho it depends how far back in the chassis you fit it.

Spud69 of Saturn Sports Cars has a 2.0ltr Zetec / type 9 box on bike carbs & mega jolt in his car & its one mighty powerful setup .

all the best

cheers
andy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th November 2010, 11:43 AM
spud69's Avatar
spud69 spud69 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hartlepool
Posts: 1,678
Default

The only main thing you need to do, depends how far you want to get the engine back, is to move TR8 between the tranny tunnel a few inches to make room for the thermostat housing on the back of the engine. This will not affect the chassis but will let you move the engine further back and have the correct position for the gear lever.

All the Best....AndyH
__________________
Haynes Roadster / Saturn GRP Bodywork. Now available direct through http://www.gillhamonline.co.uk/ or contact me direct on andrew.hugill@ntlworld.com

Regards..........AndyH
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th November 2010, 07:55 AM
cherno's Avatar
cherno cherno is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13
Default

Hi,
I've swapped my DOHC by a black top Zetec in my Haynes Roaster chassis.
As already said the thermostat housing have to be moved except if you accept to modify chassis. Second point the engine mounts are différents and I've suppress the Haynes by single plates using engine mounts ordered at GTS.

If you want to see some pictures have a look of my site : http://7kproject.net

Last edited by cherno : 9th February 2011 at 09:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th November 2010, 11:35 PM
sirtommy sirtommy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 14
Default

Cheers spud seems simple. Am i right in thinking it would be best to put TR8 in as usual and then cut it out after using an angle grinder? Then i can put in the engine and box and determine the position according to the position of the gear stick?



My Locost blog- http://mydadsablogger.blogspot.com/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th November 2010, 09:29 AM
alga's Avatar
alga alga is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania
Posts: 1,249
Default

Mind the reverse light switch, too. It tries to hide behind a tranny tunnel strut. You have to move the engine back so the switch is accessible. Then the thermostat housing is about 10 mm in TR8.
__________________
Albert
Haynes Roadster FAQ | Haynes Builder Locations
Gallery, build thread in Lithuanian / via Google Translate.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th November 2010, 12:38 PM
Deanno's Avatar
Deanno Deanno is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cardigan, West Wales
Posts: 477
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirtommy View Post
I have measured the zetec engine (whilst in my escort) as best as i can and cant see any major problems. However i wondered if anyone had put a zetec in a haynes roadster which required modification to the chassis? p.s it is a phase 2 engine and i am going to use it with a type 9 box. Regards, Tom
I'm in the same boat as you using a Zetec from an escort. have you started yet?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th March 2011, 01:27 PM
baz-r baz-r is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,462
Default

ok people im at the point where my chassis is at the point where i need to think about getting my engine and box in.

what mods are a good idea befor i start messing about? i know i need to mod the front of the tunnel to alow the thermostat clearence (25mm enough to change the stat with engine in?)

next q is whats the best engine mounts to go for (1.8 cvh any good or gbs ones)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.