Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Chassis
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 19th May 2010, 10:26 PM
Bonzo's Avatar
Bonzo Bonzo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 3,321
Default

A tad low on power I would say .... It would be OK for the chassis tubes but would struggle on the platework !!

You really need to be looking for something with at least 150 amps.

I am ging to stick my neck out here .... Almost certain sure, that welder will be a re-branded Chineese import .... Some are quite good & some are dreadfull
__________________
I am not a complete idiot...........Some of the parts are missing !!
Ronnie

www.roadster-builders.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 20th May 2010, 06:35 AM
Davey's Avatar
Davey Davey is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Telford
Posts: 1,040
Default

Spend a bit more and get at least a 160Amp unit, preferably with a Euro torch and one that can take the larger 13KG rolls of wire. Mine is an Italian unit rated at 160Amps made by CEM but its poor quality for what it cost. It doesn't have the Euro connector for the torch and only takes 5KG rolls which unwind themselves and get tangled too easily. The feed motor is too small, I've had to replace the main power selector switch and the wire feed control rheostat is dodgy so stay away from CEM too . It has been in regular use for over twenty years though

D.
__________________
visit my website at www.cossie.davenewell.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 20th May 2010, 01:08 PM
ozzy1's Avatar
ozzy1 ozzy1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: perth,australia
Posts: 760
Default

Just to add a bit of fuel to the fire
I tried a chinese mig and most have probs with the wire feed motor/mechanism as they are really shit and not worth the bother unless you can get somebody to recommend you a good one that they have.
I just bought a 170 amp inverter arc welder as this is what we use at work(mine site).It is a quality brand Cigweld and has 3 year warranty etc,anyway the best part is the price as it cost me $399 about 240 quid and is absolutely fantastic.The quality of the welds is excellent and even my 3 year old could strike an arc with it as its basically one touch onto the workpiece and it arcs up.Although i will admit it is easier to tack your chassis with a mig
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 20th May 2010, 01:18 PM
Headshot Headshot is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 169
Default

Think I am going to get A Clarke mig, of around 150 amp, just gotta unload stuff on ebay first
__________________
Failed builder
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 20th May 2010, 06:10 PM
Headshot Headshot is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 169
Default

I have just blagged a welder on long term (read years) loan money will get spent on a chassis kit instead of a welder
__________________
Failed builder
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 20th May 2010, 06:14 PM
HandyAndy's Avatar
HandyAndy HandyAndy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: cleveland
Posts: 3,917
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Headshot View Post
I have just blagged a welder on long term (read years) loan money will get spent on a chassis kit instead of a welder
Nice one ( you,re having a good week )

What size ( power ) Mig welder have you sourced?

cheers
andy
__________________
Flat Pack Chassis Kits for sale, contact me at andyroadster@yahoo.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 20th May 2010, 06:16 PM
gingea1pom's Avatar
gingea1pom gingea1pom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: wiltshire
Posts: 826
Default

Nice one, when are you getting your steel or are you flat packing it?

Now if someone will spray my chassis orange for me that would be just great. Got quoted 500 today.

Cheers Ginge
__________________
Sent from my iPad, from who knows where in the world

I was building but I am not now!


Build Pictures


Build Thread
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 20th May 2010, 06:17 PM
gingea1pom's Avatar
gingea1pom gingea1pom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: wiltshire
Posts: 826
Default

We are all questions this afternoon
__________________
Sent from my iPad, from who knows where in the world

I was building but I am not now!


Build Pictures


Build Thread
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 20th May 2010, 09:32 PM
Headshot Headshot is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 169
Default

Will be getting a few bits of scrap to re-learn on, then will probably get a flat pack next month (ebay sales permitting)

Its a 170amp mig which should be OK, not sure on make, but I trust the owner.
__________________
Failed builder
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 23rd May 2010, 08:54 AM
Headshot Headshot is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 169
Default

is this stuff ok to build with?

http://www.parkersteel.co.uk/Product...5+EN10305+E220

(Amazon still haven't delivered my damn book!!)
__________________
Failed builder
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.