Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Engine/transmission
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 9th May 2013, 02:10 PM

Default Im not a Mazda mechanic, but im learning.

Hello, firstly i have a mx5 mk2 engine in my roadster, but no brake servo. On the mx5 it has an air pipe from the brake servo to the engine. As i do not have a brake servo, is it ok to just cap it off or put a small filter on it?
When i was speaking to a chap at Stoneleigh show at the weekend about it, he was saying that it is very important for the 2 to be connected for both the flow of petrol to be correct when braking and the air pressure in the servo to be correct.

Secondly, on the carb i have a small silicon pipe on it which has been cut when the engine was taken out of the car. What is it for and where should i connect it to?
Old 9th May 2013, 02:43 PM

You need to cap off the brake servo hole on the manifold.
If it's left open unfiltered/unmetered air will get sucked into it and it'll run like crap.

The little pipe on the top of the throttle body goes to the valve for the charcoal canister. Assuming you've junked the canister (most people do!) you need to cap that hole off too.
Old 9th May 2013, 03:34 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by skov View Post
You need to cap off the brake servo hole on the manifold.
If it's left open unfiltered/unmetered air will get sucked into it and it'll run like crap.
The technical term for this condition is "vacuum leak". Brake servo pipe is quite a thick one, you'd get idle speeds of 2500 rpm or so.
Old 9th May 2013, 04:13 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wain View Post
When i was speaking to a chap at Stoneleigh show at the weekend about it, he was saying that it is very important for the 2 to be connected for both the flow of petrol to be correct when braking and the air pressure in the servo to be correct.