Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > SVA/Legal
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 4th December 2008, 12:13 PM

Question Getting the car on the road - Guidance

The plan is to get the car on the road by the end of January 2009 but this part of the process seems to be more daunting than the actual build! Has anyone got available a bullet point list of the process from allocating a chassis number all the way to sticking on registration plates?

I aim to use the registration of the donor car and have all the build receipts, pictures, V5 doc. The sierra has been used for the engine, all running gear and electrics with all of the build done to the Haynes spec (btw excellent manual Chris, i've had no previous experience with welding or fabrication and its been a joy to follow to get it to this stage). getting to this stage from starting end of May.

I've put the car together with the SVA requirements in mind and don't think it will be a great problem passing with maybe only minor faults. Bodywork is about to go on and i'm in the process of setting up the suspension and wheel alignments and covering all sharp objects / protrusions.

The donor is currently SORNed, does it need to be declared back on road before going much further?

Thanks in Advance.....Andy

Last edited by spud69 : 4th December 2008 at 08:45 PM.
Old 4th December 2008, 04:05 PM

Keep donor sorn'ed else you'll need road tax or a fine - lol

You cannot keep the donors registration but you should get an age related plate
Old 14th December 2008, 09:01 PM
fabbyglass

Q reg is better or at least it used to be as MOT regs put car as pre 1975 so no daft emissions unless I dreamt it?
Old 27th December 2008, 03:36 AM

I put together 2 clip folders one for VOSA/SVA and one for DVLA. The ones with the plastic slip in sleeves A4.