Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Electrics
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12th December 2020, 02:33 PM
garyout garyout is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Gosport Hampshire
Posts: 154
Default Loom time

Good afternoon fellow builders hope everyone is well and staying safe.


I am just about to start on the loom, I have stripped down the mx5 loom so i need to run what i have left question is. Have people run it in conduit or made loom with proper loom tape?


Cheers Gary
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16th December 2020, 03:22 PM
jps jps is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Colchester, Essex
Posts: 436
Default

Haven't got there myself but most of the images i've seen of other peoples builds show wiring either inside flexi-trunking like this stuff: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Hamimelon-F.../dp/B07GBVGH3X

Or spiral wrap, like this stuff:
https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/cable...E&gclsrc=aw.ds

I think the former looks a lot better!

Presumably if you use actual loom tape you have to get all wiring in situ, so you know the lengths and where the various wires split off from the main run, then remove it all to wrap it, allowing for the various 'junctions' where wiring needs to come out. I assume that's a bit easier with conduit, and EVEN easier with spiral wrap.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th December 2020, 04:26 PM
garyout garyout is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Gosport Hampshire
Posts: 154
Default

Afternoon

I think i will loom tape it and use the spiral wrap, The trucks i work on have the loom in conduit all good until you have to trace a fault


Gary
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th December 2020, 08:39 AM
Ianr Ianr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 233
Default

Hi Gary - I used the split conduit with my MX5 loom and was glad I did. It was held by cable ties and when I decided to add wiring for daylight running lights after IVA it was very simple to snip the ties and add the wiring before clipping back into place. If I had wrapped the loom it would have taken ages to do.
Happy Christmas
__________________
My build blog here http://ianhaynes20.wordpress.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th December 2020, 09:52 PM
twinturbo's Avatar
twinturbo twinturbo is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Carlisle
Posts: 4,381
Default

Mine will be in split Conduit and wrapped when done, that's how most of the later ford stuffwas done.
__________________
You only get a woosh with a dump valve

Build Thread


Man Cave Mantiques



Cecil Street Auto Repairs Garage Carlisle




Build Cost 4181.65 - Last - Wheel Cylinders
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30th December 2020, 08:19 PM
garyout garyout is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Gosport Hampshire
Posts: 154
Default

Evening all

I'm going with the split conduit I guess it will look tidy as well

Gary
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th January 2021, 10:42 AM
twinturbo's Avatar
twinturbo twinturbo is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Carlisle
Posts: 4,381
Default

Let us see the progress...

The loom has been holding me up for years as I can't be bothered ( rather than being unable!)
__________________
You only get a woosh with a dump valve

Build Thread


Man Cave Mantiques



Cecil Street Auto Repairs Garage Carlisle




Build Cost 4181.65 - Last - Wheel Cylinders
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.