Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Electrics
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th November 2011, 10:05 AM
brainbug007's Avatar
brainbug007 brainbug007 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Weston-Super-Mare
Posts: 846
Default Megajolt TPS wiring

I'm a bit confused about how the wiring for the tps goes with the MJ. My tps has 3 wires, blue, blue/black, yellow. The yellow wire is the center of the 3 and I'm guessing this is the signal input into the MJ on pin 10? Then according the diagrams, the ground wire on pin 9 gets sent to the tps. Does this become the positive into the tps so to speak and the vref coming from the tps becomes the negagive return from the tps? If so how does the MJ then get grounded back to the battery?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29th November 2011, 10:15 AM
davedew's Avatar
davedew davedew is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Taunton
Posts: 342
Default

Vref is the +5v power supply to the TPS. The middle yellow wire is the TPS input to the megajolt. This value will increase with throttle opening.
The other wire connects to the same ground as the megajolt.

You have to get the outer wires connected the right way round. You should see an increasing value on the megajolt as you open the throttle. If you get a decreasing value the wires are the wrong way round.

Make sure you calibrate the TPS in the global settings and save the table it generates to the megajolt.
__________________
http://s831.photobucket.com/user/dav...ter%20Pictures

OTR 01/05/14 - 1.6 CVH, Type 9, Bike Carbs, Megajolt
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th November 2011, 10:31 AM
brainbug007's Avatar
brainbug007 brainbug007 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Weston-Super-Mare
Posts: 846
Default

Ah cool thanks dave, confused me about the gnd. Would it work to just run a sepearte gnd wire from the tps to the chassis instead of putting a T junction in on the MJ gnd wire?

Yup once I get it work with my pc then I plan to have a good play with it and calibrate it. Did you build up your map yourself or use someone else's?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th November 2011, 01:12 PM
davedew's Avatar
davedew davedew is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Taunton
Posts: 342
Default

I got the MAP from DaddyA on this forum. I have got a couple to try though.

I connected mine in with the megajolt to ensure there was no chance of false readings screwing things up.
__________________
http://s831.photobucket.com/user/dav...ter%20Pictures

OTR 01/05/14 - 1.6 CVH, Type 9, Bike Carbs, Megajolt
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th November 2011, 02:19 PM
brainbug007's Avatar
brainbug007 brainbug007 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Weston-Super-Mare
Posts: 846
Default

Fair enough. I've done all my connections with small bullet connectors so far. Would it be ok to have 2 wires going into one bullet? eg one that goes off to the tps for it's gnd and another that goes off to the chassis to be earthed and then the other end of the bullet just has a short wire that goes into the MJ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th November 2011, 03:52 PM
davedew's Avatar
davedew davedew is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Taunton
Posts: 342
Default

Shouldn't be a problem so long as the connections are tight.
__________________
http://s831.photobucket.com/user/dav...ter%20Pictures

OTR 01/05/14 - 1.6 CVH, Type 9, Bike Carbs, Megajolt
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th November 2011, 04:21 PM
brainbug007's Avatar
brainbug007 brainbug007 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Weston-Super-Mare
Posts: 846
Default

Nice one, those bullet connectors seem really good. Easy to install, small, & nice tight connection.

Just out of curiosity, how did you connect your computer to your MJ? Did you use one of those serial to usb cables?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29th November 2011, 07:15 PM
mark mark is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Billingham (north east)
Posts: 770
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davedew View Post
I got the MAP from DaddyA on this forum. I have got a couple to try though.

I connected mine in with the megajolt to ensure there was no chance of false readings screwing things up.
Thats the map from when i had a cvh in mine, was done on a rolling road unlike some you can find on the web, worked pretty well, for my engine anyway!

Should be perfect for brainbug as mine was a 1.8cvh and used the same bike carbs
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29th November 2011, 07:51 PM
davedew's Avatar
davedew davedew is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Taunton
Posts: 342
Default

I did buy the serial to USB adapter but my mums laptop has got a serial port in it so I had no connection problems at all.

Map seems to work well with my 1.6 but will see it needs a tweek when we get on the RR
__________________
http://s831.photobucket.com/user/dav...ter%20Pictures

OTR 01/05/14 - 1.6 CVH, Type 9, Bike Carbs, Megajolt
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30th November 2011, 09:35 AM
brainbug007's Avatar
brainbug007 brainbug007 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Weston-Super-Mare
Posts: 846
Default

Ya seems to be the only way to connect to the MJ is with an old pc with a serial port. I've ordered a cheap panasonic toughbook so hopefully that'll do the job.

My MJ did come with some maps, one of wich says Cvh with TPS so I'm hoping this will be good enough to start with.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.