Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Electrics
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12th April 2012, 01:39 PM
Peter-C Peter-C is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 279
Default Electrical quickie

Should the fuel gauge work with the battery connected but no key in the ignition. I am using the original sierra instruments and sender.

Cheers Peter
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th April 2012, 02:04 PM
HandyAndy's Avatar
HandyAndy HandyAndy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: cleveland
Posts: 3,917
Default

My fuel gauge works without the key in the ignition,
I,ve used the original Sierra instrument binnicle but with an aftermarket sender unit.

cheers
andy
__________________
Flat Pack Chassis Kits for sale, contact me at andyroadster@yahoo.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th April 2012, 02:06 PM
Peter-C Peter-C is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 279
Default

Cheers Andy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th April 2012, 02:08 PM
Bonzo's Avatar
Bonzo Bonzo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 3,321
Default

Hi Peter

The Original Sierra fuel gauge remembers its last reading when the ignition is turned off.

For example, if you have 1/4 tank of fuel, the gauge will still read this after the ignition is turned off.

Hope this helps
__________________
I am not a complete idiot...........Some of the parts are missing !!
Ronnie

www.roadster-builders.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th April 2012, 02:33 PM
brainbug007's Avatar
brainbug007 brainbug007 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Weston-Super-Mare
Posts: 846
Default

Sorry to hijack this thread but what you said reminded me of something I meant to ask about bonzo. For some reason my gauge/sender (orginal sierra ones) only gives a reading from 1/4 to full tank but won't go below a 1/4 even when the arm is all the way at the empty position?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th April 2012, 04:51 PM
robo robo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: scabs
Posts: 1,722
Default

Pull the wire off the tank sender unit and if the gauge goes to empty the problem lies with the sender unit.

Bob
__________________
When The Results Disagree With The Theory: Believe The Results And Invent A New Theory
If I had two brains I,d still be a halfwit

The cave http://s1116.photobucket.com/user/my...deshow/mancave

The build http://www.haynes.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=12669
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th April 2012, 05:32 PM
Peter-C Peter-C is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 279
Default

When I put fuel in yesterday the gauge went up to about 3/8 full. Today I had disconnected the battery live and when reconnected gauge went back to where it was.

Hope that makes sense.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.