Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Electrics
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th April 2012, 10:25 PM
ayjay ayjay is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Coedpoeth near Wrexham, North Wales
Posts: 737
Question brake light switch

I've just got some ali in to start the body panels.Whilst on my knees next to the pedal box making the templates I spot this little switch I left there months ago ready to fit
Ive no idea how to mount it or how it was mounted in the sierra originally. Its a little electrical push switch .
I'd better do it now or it will be impossible later. Any ideas please
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14th April 2012, 06:49 PM
voucht's Avatar
voucht voucht is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lautrec, Tarn (81), Occitanie, France
Posts: 871
Default

I'm not 100% sure, but I think this electric switch is revered : it opens the circuit when pushed (no light) and closes it when released (brake light is on). Somebody might confirm. Test it to be sure, then you'll need to find a way to install it in front of your brake pedal, but it won't be easy. Any chance you can insert an hydraulic brake light switch on your copper brake lines ?
__________________
Sylvain
Pictures of my completed Roadster
https://www.flickr.com/photos/994983...7646799525542/
Build blog: http://vouchtroadster.blogspot.se/
www.expedition-plongee.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th April 2012, 07:57 PM
ayjay ayjay is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Coedpoeth near Wrexham, North Wales
Posts: 737
Default

Thanks Sylvain.I think you may be right .A hydraulic switch may be the tidier option.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th April 2012, 08:02 PM
brainbug007's Avatar
brainbug007 brainbug007 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Weston-Super-Mare
Posts: 846
Default

I was wondering this myself as from everything I've read mechanical switches are much better like what was fitted in the sierra. I thought the hydraulic ones where prone to being not sensitive enough and the lights not always coming on unless you really mash the pedal down. What have others done who've got cars through IVA?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th April 2012, 08:20 PM
HandyAndy's Avatar
HandyAndy HandyAndy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: cleveland
Posts: 3,917
Default

I have the hydraulic switch, its fitted very close to the M.C. in the brake line that feeds the drivers side front caliper & it activates the brake lights as soon as I put a slight pressure on the pedal.

BUT

I have heard that these type of switches are prone to trapping air in them , a few people have them sitting at an angle so stop this...i.e the switch on its side so to speak.

HTH.

cheers
andy
__________________
Flat Pack Chassis Kits for sale, contact me at andyroadster@yahoo.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14th April 2012, 09:50 PM
AshG's Avatar
AshG AshG is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rochester
Posts: 1,882
Default

i had a hydraulic switch on my car but after the third one failing i gave up and fitted a micro switch on the pedal and have never looked back. i will go out and take a picture tomorrow if the rain holds off.
__________________
My Roadster Is Finished NerNer.......
Pigs can fly, you just have to carry them onto the plane.

My Pictures
http://s707.photobucket.com/user/ashgardiner/profile/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14th April 2012, 09:54 PM
ayjay ayjay is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Coedpoeth near Wrexham, North Wales
Posts: 737
Default

Cheers -a pic would be helpful in order to decide on the best option
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15th April 2012, 01:40 PM
voucht's Avatar
voucht voucht is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lautrec, Tarn (81), Occitanie, France
Posts: 871
Default

Adrian, you can also ask jiwillia who said he had to change to an electric switch too in this thread (out of the main topic) http://www.haynes.co.uk/forums/showt...2415#post72415, last thread so far.
Bye.
Sylvain
__________________
Sylvain
Pictures of my completed Roadster
https://www.flickr.com/photos/994983...7646799525542/
Build blog: http://vouchtroadster.blogspot.se/
www.expedition-plongee.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15th April 2012, 03:15 PM
jiwillia jiwillia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Okehampton, Devon
Posts: 43
Default

I used a motorcycle rear brake stop light switch (Honda style - plenty on ebay) fixed in a bracket and operated from the brake master cylinder actuator yoke/rod. Some pics below. Hope this helps.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Image00149.jpg (61.7 KB, 38 views)
File Type: jpg Image00150.jpg (69.6 KB, 35 views)
File Type: jpg Image00152.jpg (87.7 KB, 38 views)
File Type: jpg Image00154.jpg (82.6 KB, 36 views)
File Type: jpg Image00153.jpg (79.7 KB, 38 views)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16th April 2012, 07:07 AM
Wynand's Avatar
Wynand Wynand is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South Africa
Posts: 173
Default

I used a switch that is activated off a cam cut into the brake pedal when I built the pedal box - any movement of the pedal and the brake lights are on. (sensitivity depends on setup of switch)
Here are some pics of mine. The loud pedal step however, had been modified after these pics were taken when permanently fitted to car.



__________________
Cheers

Wynand
http://5psi.net
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.