Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Electrics
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th October 2009, 10:37 PM
geeman's Avatar
geeman geeman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croydon
Posts: 318
Angry Wiring !!?!?!?

Well ive pretty much finished the exhaust, so thought id get started on the wiring today. I was usinng the sierra wiring diagrams from the haynes manual, but!!! its soo confusing. I fistly tried connecting up as many of the connectors as possible, and then asses what needs to be removed from the loom, but its so frustrating as looking at the sierra wiring diagram i have is no help whatsoever, especially once everything is connected i end up with too many connectors of which i dont know what to get rid of., and added to the fact i didnt make it easy for myself when my sierra was tkaen apart by labelling/indexing the wiring properly, i am throughly baffled. I dont want to buy another loom from svc or the premier ones, and from reading other threads it seems very do-able to modify the original sierra loom, but when i see a loose connector, i have no idea what it is meant to go to originally, so dont want to get rid of it. I have no idea which ones go to the lights either as i dont remember from when i stripped the loom out originally. ahhh... i cant stand how frustrating this is!!!

I dont know how i can do this.. is there any picture assisted wiring diagram out there(unlikely) or somthing that might make this easier?????
__________________
my build pics
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27th October 2009, 10:45 PM
dogwood's Avatar
dogwood dogwood is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 899
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geeman View Post
.. i cant stand how frustrating this is!!!

Could'nt help smiling when I read your post....
Not because it's funny, but because I've been there...

Drove me to Bl***y distraction.
The only advice I can give is get the engine wiring sorted first.
Then worry about the lights and stuff.

David

Simple diagram Pinto engine

Last edited by dogwood : 27th October 2009 at 10:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th October 2009, 10:52 PM
geeman's Avatar
geeman geeman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croydon
Posts: 318
Default

I started off this morning at arond 10 and withing 20 min was banging my head against the engine crane trying to get my head around it. I sectiond off the loom by poutting each diferent part of it in plastic bags, which makes the whole thing easier to handle. i was doing the engine bit of the loom today, but as i have almost no memory of what the loom was like in the sierra, i was struggling with the engine bay connectors, the thing is the thing is the sierra haynes wiring diagrams would have been more helpful if i know what certain things on the diagram were, i look at the key to find the name of the part the wires should be going to, but then have no idea what that part is meant to llok like or where it is located on the engine. At least ford use diifferent connnectors for everything, but it does make me feel like a 2 year old just trying to solve those toys where you have to put the triangle in the triangle slot and the square in the squares slot.
__________________
my build pics
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th October 2009, 10:55 PM
geeman's Avatar
geeman geeman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croydon
Posts: 318
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dogwood View Post
Could'nt help smiling when I read your post....

Simple diagram Pinto engine
Thanks,

..... if only it was as simple as the diagram makes it out to be



I understand that it should be quite easy thoretically(famous last words ), becase as the book says, theres not much that is actually needed in the roadster in terms of wiring, but theres too much crap to offload from the loom to make it so simple.
__________________
my build pics
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th October 2009, 11:05 PM
drury318 drury318 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Scunthorpe
Posts: 145
Default

Geeman, if you post some photos of connectors or pm them to me I will identify them for you, I have many years experience of Ford wiring looms & should be able to help you sort it out, Thanks, dennis.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th October 2009, 12:10 PM
Chris Gibbs's Avatar
Chris Gibbs Chris Gibbs is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 168
Default

I usually use these from Westfield world, simple and easy to understand.

Cheers

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28th October 2009, 12:13 PM
Coozer's Avatar
Coozer Coozer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hetton le Hole
Posts: 248
Default

I hung the wiring harness on the garage wall laid out as in the car, then starting at the fuse box identified each circuit and removed them. Check, check - cut!
Having it bundled up in separate pieces is no good as you will keep going over and over the same bits.

What I was left with was an overlong basic loom that I could lay on the chassis and route effectively.

I know the wiring diagrams are confusing as they are individual I found it quite easy having it laid out and learned a lot along the way about the circuits and how they work.

Steve
__________________
MNR Vortx Build Diary

www.mymnrvortx.blogspot.com/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28th October 2009, 12:18 PM
gus's Avatar
gus gus is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Taunton
Posts: 174
Default

I did my Sierra loom by fitting it into the roadster, and then removing a circuit at a time. I did however label all of the connectors as I removed it in the donor.

I was worried about cutting something out that I shouldn't. By having the loom in the car I could check light functions, and start the engine every so often to make sure I hadn't removed a circuit I needed.

As said before post up some pics of the connectors & we might be able to id them for you. What engine are you using?

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28th October 2009, 12:20 PM
geeman's Avatar
geeman geeman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croydon
Posts: 318
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Gibbs View Post
I usually use these from Westfield world, simple and easy to understand.

Cheers

Chris
Ahh, i had seen that westfield one before, but i was using mozilla firefox and the text on the pic was coming up as hashes.. but i used internet explorer this time and it works...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coozer View Post
I hung the wiring harness on the garage wall laid out as in the car, then starting at the fuse box identified each circuit and removed them. Check, check - cut!
Having it bundled up in separate pieces is no good as you will keep going over and over the same bits.

What I was left with was an overlong basic loom that I could lay on the chassis and route effectively.

I know the wiring diagrams are confusing as they are individual I found it quite easy having it laid out and learned a lot along the way about the circuits and how they work.

Steve
once youd undone the loom tape and layed it out, is each circuit seperate coming out of the fuse box, as i guess i could just look at what fuse it is going to in the fuse box and remove that part of the loom...

hmm... that made it sound much easier... off to the garage i go...
__________________
my build pics
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28th October 2009, 12:24 PM
geeman's Avatar
geeman geeman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croydon
Posts: 318
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gus View Post
I did my Sierra loom by fitting it into the roadster, and then removing a circuit at a time. I did however label all of the connectors as I removed it in the donor.

I was worried about cutting something out that I shouldn't. By having the loom in the car I could check light functions, and start the engine every so often to make sure I hadn't removed a circuit I needed.

As said before post up some pics of the connectors & we might be able to id them for you. What engine are you using?

Mark
Im using a 1.8 carb cvh. i think ill try what coozer said and go fromt he fuse box and firstly remove the bulk of the loom as it will largely be in seperate circuits.

i dont yet have any lights, but the thing is there are around 8 unconnected connectors just on the engine loom that im abit confused what they originally went to that i dont have on the car right now.

cheers,
geeman
__________________
my build pics
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.