Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Running gear
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th December 2010, 04:05 PM
David_17's Avatar
David_17 David_17 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Teesside
Posts: 544
Default Brake pedal

Another probably obvious stupid question but what stops the brake pedal from flopping forwards?

if i rest it on the floor its too far foward, whats the reason for not having a support like the throttle and clutch?

Am i missing something? :S
__________________
~

My Build Diary - http://davesroadster.blogspot.com/

*updated 7/6/11*

Best bit so far: Getting it running
Worst bit so far: Cutting steel for wishbones and engine mounts.
Most annoying bit so far: Generator packing up half way through welding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 4th December 2010, 04:22 PM
alga's Avatar
alga alga is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania
Posts: 1,249
Default

There's a limiting bolt that should be sticking out of the floor, supporting the brake pedal by a protrusion on its front face.
__________________
Albert
Haynes Roadster FAQ | Haynes Builder Locations
Gallery, build thread in Lithuanian / via Google Translate.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th December 2010, 04:23 PM
Tilly819 Tilly819 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Leicestershire
Posts: 489
Default

on the book pedals there is a tab that sticks out of the front of the pedal at the bottom.

put a bolt threw the floor (with a nut on either side) to line up with this tab then you have an adjustable stop

tilly

Last edited by Tilly819 : 4th December 2010 at 04:24 PM. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th December 2010, 04:24 PM
Tilly819 Tilly819 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Leicestershire
Posts: 489
Default

must learn to type faster

beet me to it

tilly
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th December 2010, 04:38 PM
David_17's Avatar
David_17 David_17 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Teesside
Posts: 544
Default

Ah ha. Makes sense now cheers. I was going to put something underneath there as a stopper, never thought of making it adjustable.

Where would I be without you guys.

Another job for tomorrow.
__________________
~

My Build Diary - http://davesroadster.blogspot.com/

*updated 7/6/11*

Best bit so far: Getting it running
Worst bit so far: Cutting steel for wishbones and engine mounts.
Most annoying bit so far: Generator packing up half way through welding.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th December 2010, 05:56 PM
Old Git Old Git is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Mine's got the standard Sierra pedal box, and the brake switch (bayonet fit into the top of the pedal box) stops the pedal dropping right back.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.