Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Donor cars
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 24th March 2011, 05:07 PM

Default mx-5 donor 1.8 or 1.6??

Hello all newbie here.

Looking to use a mazda as a donor but can't decide if the 1.6 engine has a good weight saving over the 1.8 which only has a 15bhp advantage. Obiously it will have more torque through out the rev range but.....

Any ideas anyone? Anyone know the weight advantage?
Old 24th March 2011, 05:25 PM

Personally speaking I went for the 1.6 vspec as you just don't need the torque IMHO but I am sure others will have differing opinions.

Matt

My build diary. http://www.mx5-locost.co.uk
Old 24th March 2011, 05:52 PM

Yeah I think your right seems there's really not much between these engines 10lbft and 10bhp isn't going to make much difference? Is there a weight advantage though? I suppose the reciprical rotational weight will make a difference (lighterflywheel and crank etc). What's the vspec sorry?
Old 24th March 2011, 08:29 PM

V-spec stands for v-special. Basically the same car but with uprated suspension and LSD. The interior is also different (tan leather with high back seats) and they generally came in BRG but a few were sold in a high gloss black.

I found this engine comparison:

1.6 or 1.8?