Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Electrics
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20th February 2010, 08:19 PM
DaddyA's Avatar
DaddyA DaddyA is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Saltash, Cornwall
Posts: 263
Default Coil pack

Yet another daft question,

have the edis set up and coil pack mounted to the back of the engine.

Whats the correct order to the plugs from the coil pack.

The coil electrical connector is pointing towards the scuttle?
__________________
Cheers

Daz...

http://s641.photobucket.com/albums/uu133/tashlotty/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th February 2010, 08:30 PM
drury318 drury318 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Scunthorpe
Posts: 145
Default

The numbers are on the coil next to the sockets, might need cleaning up a bit to see them? Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th February 2010, 09:06 PM
DaddyA's Avatar
DaddyA DaddyA is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Saltash, Cornwall
Posts: 263
Default

Cheers fellas,

not far off from trying to start it, so thought i'd ask.

Can't remember seeing any identifying marks - I'll have another look.

Lets hope the leads reach?????

Thanks again.
__________________
Cheers

Daz...

http://s641.photobucket.com/albums/uu133/tashlotty/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th February 2010, 09:17 PM
Bonzo's Avatar
Bonzo Bonzo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 3,321
Default

Hi Daz

Just been out to look for one for a photoshoot ..... Too dark to find em

It may help to point out, the coil pack is arranged in two Banks A & B

1 & 4 are on one bank
2 & 3 are on the other bank

When the the ignition module fires the coil, either bank A or bank B is fired meaning that 2 plugs are fired at the same time ( Hence the term wasted spark )


From memory. Adrians post is spot on

I'll take a picky for you tomorrow
__________________
I am not a complete idiot...........Some of the parts are missing !!
Ronnie

www.roadster-builders.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th February 2010, 09:23 PM
AshG's Avatar
AshG AshG is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rochester
Posts: 1,882
Default

clean the dirt off between the plugs there are clearly marked numbers
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st February 2010, 02:35 PM
DaddyA's Avatar
DaddyA DaddyA is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Saltash, Cornwall
Posts: 263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AshG View Post
clean the dirt off between the plugs there are clearly marked numbers
Cheers for the replies,

amazing what you find if u look, didn't even have to clean anything.

It was already clean, and there it was clear as daylight - never noticed it before.

Now i know the firing order, all leads fit except one - the longest??

Do they do longer leads or am I going to have to move the coil pack???????
__________________
Cheers

Daz...

http://s641.photobucket.com/albums/uu133/tashlotty/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st February 2010, 05:02 PM
AshG's Avatar
AshG AshG is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rochester
Posts: 1,882
Default

i believe there are companies that will make you up some leads to any length you want
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21st February 2010, 08:52 PM
mark mark is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Billingham (north east)
Posts: 770
Default

Ford ka leads fit if you have a gen 2 coil pack and they are very very long

i had to mount my coil pack on the bulkhead panel to lose some of the length.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22nd February 2010, 12:50 PM
DaddyA's Avatar
DaddyA DaddyA is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Saltash, Cornwall
Posts: 263
Default

Cheers Fellas,

sorted, took the longest lead into local shop and had a route around.

Mk 5/6 Fiesta - long leads (6" + longer), so using a mix of that and mondeo.
Ka ones he showed me - not long enough?
__________________
Cheers

Daz...

http://s641.photobucket.com/albums/uu133/tashlotty/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22nd February 2010, 12:58 PM
mark mark is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Billingham (north east)
Posts: 770
Default

Maybe the motor factors i went to got confused then, but he did say they were ka

Then again i had him show me all the ford leads he had until i found the longest so maye the boxes got mixed up

Whatever they are they are about 600mm long!

At least you are sorted now
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.