Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Electrics
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11th February 2010, 10:12 PM
twinturbo's Avatar
twinturbo twinturbo is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Carlisle
Posts: 4,389
Default

Us younger peeps come from an age where they learned how to build engines that last .

A good CVH will do 170K easily on the same bottom end. Twincs will go to 200+ easily ( need a head gasket or two )


Concentrate on the IVA stuff and play afterwards

TT
__________________
You only get a woosh with a dump valve

Build Thread


Man Cave Mantiques



Cecil Street Auto Repairs Garage Carlisle




Build Cost 4181.65 - Last - Wheel Cylinders
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11th February 2010, 10:16 PM
twinturbo's Avatar
twinturbo twinturbo is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Carlisle
Posts: 4,389
Default

I will have an oil guage on my turbo sierra, but that realy does matter as with all the oil feeds to the turbos and the potential to write off 1K of Turbo's it's worth the investement... And it looks cool, and does not have to pass the IVA .

TT
__________________
You only get a woosh with a dump valve

Build Thread


Man Cave Mantiques



Cecil Street Auto Repairs Garage Carlisle




Build Cost 4181.65 - Last - Wheel Cylinders
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11th February 2010, 10:30 PM
alga's Avatar
alga alga is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania
Posts: 1,249
Default

I'm with you guys... I will someday fit a row of individual round instruments for the classic look, but for starters I picked up a Sierra cluster with a tach for 5, as my donor had one without.
__________________
Albert
Haynes Roadster FAQ | Haynes Builder Locations
Gallery, build thread in Lithuanian / via Google Translate.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11th February 2010, 10:43 PM
RAYLEE29's Avatar
RAYLEE29 RAYLEE29 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: POOLE DORSET
Posts: 520
Default

a good idea with the big red light is to have it wired to a higher pressure switching switch.
the normal ones switch at a very low pressure meaning by the time the lights in youve got real trouble
what you need is an early warning of low pressure not a light that says your engines dead
Ray
__________________
Total spend so far 1116.08
1ST ALBUM HERE
2ND ALBUM HERE
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11th February 2010, 10:57 PM
twinturbo's Avatar
twinturbo twinturbo is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Carlisle
Posts: 4,389
Default

VW did this..

A low preasure...

and a

You stupid $%$^^ Idot Buzzer

TT
__________________
You only get a woosh with a dump valve

Build Thread


Man Cave Mantiques



Cecil Street Auto Repairs Garage Carlisle




Build Cost 4181.65 - Last - Wheel Cylinders
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12th February 2010, 11:59 AM
deezee's Avatar
deezee deezee is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wirral
Posts: 744
Default

To answer the original question, Ford block fittings are 1/4 NPT for the oil pressure switch. You'll need a 2 way adapter to take the 1/8 NPT that virtually all senders use. Something like this

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/SIERRA-ESCORT-COSWORTH-TURBO-OIL-PRESSURE-GAUGE-ADAPTOR_W0QQitemZ400102311676
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12th February 2010, 01:22 PM
davidimurray's Avatar
davidimurray davidimurray is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near Cardiff
Posts: 742
Default

I'm planning to get a cheap electronic unit for first startup and testing to ensure that all is healthy. Afer that I will hopefully get around to wiring the sensor into maybe the megajolt or some some data acquisition kit.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12th February 2010, 02:05 PM
HandyAndy's Avatar
HandyAndy HandyAndy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: cleveland
Posts: 3,917
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deezee View Post
To answer the original question, Ford block fittings are 1/4 NPT for the oil pressure switch. You'll need a 2 way adapter to take the 1/8 NPT that virtually all senders use. Something like this

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/SIERRA-ESCORT-COSWORTH-TURBO-OIL-PRESSURE-GAUGE-ADAPTOR_W0QQitemZ400102311676
cheers Deezee

yes, i,d looked into those adapters & now feel happier to order the gauge/s , decided to spend a little bit more & have a oil pressure & oil temp gauge alongside the sierra binnicle, then later in the year i,ll be having all individual gauges .

cheers for all the advice/info guys.

cheers
andy
__________________
Flat Pack Chassis Kits for sale, contact me at andyroadster@yahoo.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 14th February 2010, 07:40 PM
richardk richardk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Knaresborough
Posts: 27
Default

I got mine from here

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260546911585#ht_720wt_ 939

Every penny counts!

Cheers

Rich
__________________
Gallery updated 01/11/2010

http://www.kilmartin.it/cgi-bin/gallery
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 16th February 2010, 12:26 AM
Big Vern Big Vern is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Milton Keynes
Posts: 320
Default

HA, if you plan to replace the gauges with 'Proper ones' when the engine goes 'Pop' then why bother with any gauges now other than what comes with the stock binacle? If you can't see the failing oil pressure and resulting excessive oil temp then you'll be fitting the 'proper ones' soon enough
BV.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.