Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Donor cars
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th October 2009, 09:15 PM
Spikehaus Spikehaus is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Plymouth, Devon
Posts: 483
Default 15 inch Alloy Rims

I managed to buy these 195/65/R15 alloy wheels for 22 each from my sisters boyfriends. Its it a good buy? I am going to machine some new alloy centre covers with our company logo.



Last edited by Spikehaus : 15th October 2009 at 09:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15th October 2009, 10:11 PM
londonsean69 londonsean69 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Surrey/South London Border
Posts: 453
Default

That is a very high profile tyre for that sort of size rim.

I would expect the profile to be a 50 or 55 on those.

They may well squirm around a bit.

What sort of nick are the tyres in? The actual alloys look mint
__________________
Sean
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th October 2009, 10:56 PM
Spikehaus Spikehaus is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Plymouth, Devon
Posts: 483
Default

The tyres are almost new, he got them for his car, then decided he wanted a new car that came with nice wheels anyway. I agree about the profile of the tyre; but now I get a bit of bling to look at while I finish building the car!

When I finish the build and its road legal, I may but them on the company van and buy some new rims for the Roadster! Failing that I am sure I can sell them to some kid to but on his kevscort. haha
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th October 2009, 11:18 PM
londonsean69 londonsean69 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Surrey/South London Border
Posts: 453
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spikehaus View Post
The tyres are almost new, he got them for his car, then decided he wanted a new car that came with nice wheels anyway. I agree about the profile of the tyre; but now I get a bit of bling to look at while I finish building the car!

When I finish the build and its road legal, I may but them on the company van and buy some new rims for the Roadster! Failing that I am sure I can sell them to some kid to but on his kevscort. haha
I have myself some black bling, but it is all wrapped up in the garage Got a set of 16" 5 spoke alloys in black, with some nice low-profiles, although once those tyres are mutilated they will be replaced by some nice Toyos

As for a kevscort, I have just picked myself up a winter hack. Mk3 Astra Sport (2.0 16v) complete with chav exhaust and 17" TSW venom wheels. It actually goes like stink
__________________
Sean
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th October 2009, 12:19 AM
spud69's Avatar
spud69 spud69 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hartlepool
Posts: 1,678
Default

Nice rims, the only thing is if you are going with type 9 gearbox / sierra setup you need 50's on 15" rim to get your speedo correct for the IVA, on yours it will be under reading. You could always change the wormscrew in the gearbox but may be hard to find the right one.
I put 15x195x50's on mine and it calibrated fine the speedo.

AndyH
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th October 2009, 08:06 AM
Spikehaus Spikehaus is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Plymouth, Devon
Posts: 483
Default

Are you using the original Speedo or a digital dash? I was going to use the original for now and hope fully replace with a digital dash before the dreaded inspection...I believe that they can be adjusted to suit?

I still reckon, give it a month and it will have new types all round!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th October 2009, 09:13 AM
drury318 drury318 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Scunthorpe
Posts: 145
Default

Go to http://www.etyres.co.uk/tyre-size-calculator.htm , it will help with matching tyre sizes etc, Dennis.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16th October 2009, 12:15 PM
spud69's Avatar
spud69 spud69 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hartlepool
Posts: 1,678
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spikehaus View Post
Are you using the original Speedo or a digital dash? I was going to use the original for now and hope fully replace with a digital dash before the dreaded inspection...I believe that they can be adjusted to suit?

I still reckon, give it a month and it will have new types all round!
I'm using the original dash so they need to be matched, but yes you do need to calibrate the digital dashes. With most you drive along at a steady 60mph, gps or rolling road, and they calibrate themselves.

AndyH
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.