Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Announcements
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 27th January 2014, 11:02 PM

Default 1st inspection tomorrow

Tomorrow is the big day... well not “the big day”, how can I call it? “The small day”? “Half-the-big-day”? Anyway, it's my first building inspection, but not the last one. The car is ready, last week, I could manage to weld the rails I'm going to attach the seats on, so the chassis is now in its final state. I checked, double, triple-checked everything, so not much more I can do for now.

I also could get hold of a car trailer from a guy living in the neighbourhood who rented it to me for £20, so that's not half bad.

But of course I have a big knot in my stomach, even though there will be no «*pass*» or «*fail*», it is just an intermediate inspection where I will have recommendations on what is to be changed/improved before the final inspection, when the car will be completed. However, I'm nervous. It's been almost 3 years that I've decided to start this adventure of building my own car. That was crazy, daring, uncertain, and I'm glad I could go so far in my build and actually present myself to the inspector. 3 years ago, this was just a very blur image in my mind. And it wouldn't have been possible without all the help I got from the members of this forum. Such a long way! I had never welded before, and my biggest fear is that the inspector will tell me tomorrow that my chassis is crap, distorted, welds are bad, etc..., and perhaps tomorrow evening I will have to admit the evidence that I was not up to the job...

Anyway, I must go through that now, and telling myself I did my best. “Alea jacta est”, as Julius Caesar used to say!

What makes we nervous is also diving a 200 km round-trip, most likely under the snow, and at night (inspection is planned for 18:00 tomorrow evening!), with my Roadster on this huge car trailer.