Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Electrics
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 22nd July 2010, 10:25 PM
DaddyA's Avatar
DaddyA DaddyA is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Saltash, Cornwall
Posts: 263
Default

Cheers fellas for the help,

all sorted (hopefully).

Just ditched the blue & white wire (feeds choke apparently)??

Charges, light goes out and nothing gets unusally warm.

Even stops without a resistor? Bonus.

Bring on the next electrical snag!!!
__________________
Cheers

Daz...

http://s641.photobucket.com/albums/uu133/tashlotty/
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 22nd July 2010, 10:36 PM
HandyAndy's Avatar
HandyAndy HandyAndy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: cleveland
Posts: 3,917
Default

Hi Daz,

i,m now puzzled....( doesn,t take much )

I,m running the cvh with standard carb etc........... the blue /white wire from my alternator doesn,t go to the auto choke, it appears to go to the instrument cluster

I know you are not using the original carb so it maybe irrelevant but why would a wire go from the alternator ( major electrickery supplier ) to a mere auto choke system?

cheers
andy
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 23rd July 2010, 08:40 AM
davedew's Avatar
davedew davedew is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Taunton
Posts: 342
Default

Andy,

Looking at the wiring diagrams, the blue wire from the alternator goes to the dash warning light.

The blue/white wire goes via engine management D to the autochoke. The reason for this I think is that the choke is powered directly from the alternator, only when the engine is running.

If it was powered directly from an ignition switched supply you could warm the bi-metallic spring in the choke without the engine running, which would then partly turn the choke off. Not ideal in real cold start up conditions.

Cheers

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 23rd July 2010, 09:26 AM
twinturbo's Avatar
twinturbo twinturbo is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Carlisle
Posts: 4,389
Default

Pinto 1800's feed the auto choke from the alternator,
CVH 1800's do it another way that I can't remember..

TT
__________________
You only get a woosh with a dump valve

Build Thread


Man Cave Mantiques



Cecil Street Auto Repairs Garage Carlisle




Build Cost 4181.65 - Last - Wheel Cylinders
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 23rd July 2010, 10:06 AM
davedew's Avatar
davedew davedew is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Taunton
Posts: 342
Default

TT,

Looking in my Haynes manual section 13.55, diagram 1a. Ignition system 1990 onwards covers 1.6 OHC, 2.0 DOHC, & 1.8 CVH. All connect autochoke to alternator via blue/white wire. Only difference is that on cvh it goes through an relay.

This disgram seemed to stack up when I did the wiring on gus's car.
Might not be the same for all Sierra's though?!!

Cheers

Gus
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 23rd July 2010, 11:01 AM
twinturbo's Avatar
twinturbo twinturbo is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Carlisle
Posts: 4,389
Default

yeah, I think there's a thermo switch on the CVH that controls the relay, the pinto just keept heating the Bimetalic strip all the time from memory.

It's a very long time since I looked seem to remember Pinto 1800's have an extra terminal on the Alternator that's not normaly found on other alternators.

TT
__________________
You only get a woosh with a dump valve

Build Thread


Man Cave Mantiques



Cecil Street Auto Repairs Garage Carlisle




Build Cost 4181.65 - Last - Wheel Cylinders
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 23rd July 2010, 01:29 PM
HandyAndy's Avatar
HandyAndy HandyAndy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: cleveland
Posts: 3,917
Default

Thanks Dave?Gus & TT....

The reason I,ve asked is that I have a wire that isn,t connected at the moment ( not sure where it goes ) that is coming from what I believe is the auto choke thingy me bob

A silly question maybe............... do I need the auto choke?
The car starts first time every time even tho this wire is not connected

cheers
andy
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 23rd July 2010, 02:21 PM
davedew's Avatar
davedew davedew is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Taunton
Posts: 342
Default

Andy,

This time of year I expect you will get away without it connected. In the cold of winter I would think you would need it. If you know where the wire is you could always connect it up later if you get problems.

Cheers

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 23rd July 2010, 02:29 PM
HandyAndy's Avatar
HandyAndy HandyAndy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: cleveland
Posts: 3,917
Default

Thanks Dave,

I,m going to tie it up out of the way for now

"save it for a rainy day"

cheers
andy
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 23rd July 2010, 03:48 PM
DaddyA's Avatar
DaddyA DaddyA is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Saltash, Cornwall
Posts: 263
Default

I'm glad someone else answered that,

I was just going with the easy option no questions asked!!!

But it's working so that will do me
__________________
Cheers

Daz...

http://s641.photobucket.com/albums/uu133/tashlotty/
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.