Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Electrics
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st April 2010, 08:21 PM
dogwood's Avatar
dogwood dogwood is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 899
Default Hazard wiring prob

Hi Guys.

I've been finishing off my wiring
Given myself a little problem with the hazard wiring.
I know what I've done it wrong,
but need a fresh pair of eyes to see how to rectify it.

When I put the L/H indicator on the, the Hazard idiot light flashes.
I've tried putting the idiot between the switch and relay,
but that sends the relay bonkers...

Take a look at this for me.
See if anyone can see where to wire in the Hazard idiot light.
__________________
.
.
David.

Heaven, Warm days and Cool rides
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st April 2010, 08:38 PM
davidimurray's Avatar
davidimurray davidimurray is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near Cardiff
Posts: 742
Default

Can you not move the idiot light to the other side of the switch - i.e. about 1" vertically on the diagram so it is isolated from the normal indicator system.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st April 2010, 08:38 PM
Enoch Enoch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Near Boston, Lincolnshire
Posts: 788
Default

Hi Dave the idiot light will flash with the left there, just move it to the other side of the double pole switch.
Enoch
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st April 2010, 08:39 PM
Enoch Enoch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Near Boston, Lincolnshire
Posts: 788
Default

Another Dave beet me to it
That will fix it though.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st April 2010, 08:43 PM
Bonzo's Avatar
Bonzo Bonzo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 3,321
Default

Just trying to wrap my head around that diagram David

It certainly looks as if the idiot light is geting a feed from the l/h indicator circuit

Do you think that you might need a couple of diodes on the idiot switch side to prevent reverse power feeding fom the main indicator circuits
__________________
I am not a complete idiot...........Some of the parts are missing !!
Ronnie

www.roadster-builders.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st April 2010, 08:47 PM
Bonzo's Avatar
Bonzo Bonzo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 3,321
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidimurray View Post
Can you not move the idiot light to the other side of the switch - i.e. about 1" vertically on the diagram so it is isolated from the normal indicator system.
That's what I thought when I looked at the diagram .... Until I read that Dogwood had tried that already

Fubar relay !!??
__________________
I am not a complete idiot...........Some of the parts are missing !!
Ronnie

www.roadster-builders.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st April 2010, 08:52 PM
dogwood's Avatar
dogwood dogwood is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 899
Default

The relay is ok, tried swapping them round
(Ie flasher to hazard)
They are standard Ford flasher relays.
With it wired the way it is, and fitting the idiot between the
relay and switch, the relay gives power to the idiot light.
So it flashes like mad all the time.

BTW glad it ain't just me....
__________________
.
.
David.

Heaven, Warm days and Cool rides
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st April 2010, 08:55 PM
Enoch Enoch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Near Boston, Lincolnshire
Posts: 788
Default

Surely it could only do that if you had wired the other side of the idiot light to +12 instead of ground?? Otherwise where would there be a feed to make the relay go doolally? EG the light is powering the relay rather than vice versa.
Enoch
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1st April 2010, 08:56 PM
dogwood's Avatar
dogwood dogwood is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 899
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bonzo View Post
Do you think that you might need a couple of diodes on the idiot switch side to prevent reverse power feeding fom the main indicator circuits
Definatly could be an option....
__________________
.
.
David.

Heaven, Warm days and Cool rides
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 1st April 2010, 08:58 PM
Enoch Enoch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Near Boston, Lincolnshire
Posts: 788
Default

Another thing I have spotted but assume is an omission, you have not shown a switch linked to the double pole switch that actually switches the feed to the hazard relay. If it ain't there it needs to be otherwise the relay will always be trying to flash.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.