Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Electrics
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12th August 2010, 07:48 PM
HandyAndy's Avatar
HandyAndy HandyAndy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: cleveland
Posts: 3,917
Question Electrical connection of new gauges

Help please

I have bought an Oil Pressure gauge & Oil Temp gauge.......

bought the correct Sandwich plate thinghy & installed it correctly, installed the sender units etc into it.

Mounted my new gauges in the dash, they light up when side & dipped lights are turned on

However.....the instructions............3 connections to make

1) connect "S" direct to sender unit at oil filter end = done that
2) connect "-" to engine negative earth = done that
3) connect "+" to ignition live terminal = done that

The problem = the temp gauge isn,t reading a temp....
the pressure gauge goes off the scale

what am I missing? ( sorry if its obvious, me & electrickery just don,t mix )

cheers
andy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th August 2010, 08:56 PM
RAYLEE29's Avatar
RAYLEE29 RAYLEE29 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: POOLE DORSET
Posts: 520
Default

you havent got the sender wires crossed have you just a thought
Ray
__________________
Total spend so far 1116.08
1ST ALBUM HERE
2ND ALBUM HERE
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th August 2010, 09:02 PM
HandyAndy's Avatar
HandyAndy HandyAndy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: cleveland
Posts: 3,917
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAYLEE29 View Post
you havent got the sender wires crossed have you just a thought
Ray
I don,t think so....but knowing me & electrics then maybe

I purposely wired each one up at a time so as not to mix the wires.

Have I made a mistake with this ...... I,ve kept the original pressure sender that goes to the Sierra dash binnicle as I,d like to ensure that the oil pressure light goes out when the engine fires up.....could that cause a problem?

cheers
andy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th August 2010, 09:15 PM
RAYLEE29's Avatar
RAYLEE29 RAYLEE29 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: POOLE DORSET
Posts: 520
Default

ooh yes thatd be problem one the original oil pressure switch is just a switch the sender will change resistance according to pressure what you need to do is use a tee so you can fit the switch and the sender and wire both up as for the temp disconnect the wire and earth it to the block this should make the gauge read highest temp if not you have somat else wrong
Ray
__________________
Total spend so far 1116.08
1ST ALBUM HERE
2ND ALBUM HERE
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th August 2010, 09:27 PM
HandyAndy's Avatar
HandyAndy HandyAndy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: cleveland
Posts: 3,917
Default

ok, thanks Ray, I,ll give that a try tomorrow .

cheers for your help.

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th August 2010, 09:29 PM
twinturbo's Avatar
twinturbo twinturbo is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Carlisle
Posts: 4,389
Default

I think you misunderstand Andy Ray, He has the preasure switch and a T-pice to the senders for the preasure and temp.

Perhaps these are back to front Andy?

TT
__________________
You only get a woosh with a dump valve

Build Thread


Man Cave Mantiques



Cecil Street Auto Repairs Garage Carlisle




Build Cost 4181.65 - Last - Wheel Cylinders
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th August 2010, 09:31 PM
mark mark is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Billingham (north east)
Posts: 770
Default

My oil pressure goes off the scale when the oil is cold and thick, once it warms up its about 25psi idle and 80psi on the move

I thought i had it wired wrong when it initially went off the scale but i let it warm up to see what happened, maybe you need to do the same before you change any connections

Also oil temp guages take ages to get a reading as oil takes quite a while to warm up to temp, a good few miles of driving after the coolant temp is up to normal. It will prob take quite a while to get the oil temp up just revving it stationary compared to being under load when driving along
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th August 2010, 09:32 PM
HandyAndy's Avatar
HandyAndy HandyAndy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: cleveland
Posts: 3,917
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twinturbo View Post
He has the preasure switch and a T-pice to the senders for the preasure and temp.


TT
Erm....no, don,t have a T -piece to the senders, each gauge is directly wired to its own sender...

This is why I don,t understand what I,ve done wrong
as i,ve followed the instructions for each gauge independant of each other

cheers
andy
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12th August 2010, 09:38 PM
HandyAndy's Avatar
HandyAndy HandyAndy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: cleveland
Posts: 3,917
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark View Post
My oil pressure goes off the scale when the oil is cold and thick, once it warms up its about 25psi idle and 80psi on the move

I thought i had it wired wrong when it initially went off the scale but i let it warm up to see what happened, maybe you need to do the same before you change any connections

Also oil temp guages take ages to get a reading as oil takes quite a while to warm up to temp, a good few miles of driving after the coolant temp is up to normal. It will prob take quite a while to get the oil temp up just revving it stationary compared to being under load when driving along
Ahh, now that makes me feel less thick

As it was pouring down, I kept the car in the garage when fitting the gauges, tho I did let it run up to temp ( coolant).

Hopefully if weather is kinder tomorrow I,ll have the car outside & will give it some welly .....stood still

cheers
andy
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12th August 2010, 09:56 PM
David_17's Avatar
David_17 David_17 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Teesside
Posts: 544
Default

Sounds like a bad earth to me Andy. I've got a water temp gauge that was having the same problems, all down to the earth on the sender.
__________________
~

My Build Diary - http://davesroadster.blogspot.com/

*updated 7/6/11*

Best bit so far: Getting it running
Worst bit so far: Cutting steel for wishbones and engine mounts.
Most annoying bit so far: Generator packing up half way through welding.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.