Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Electrics
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd September 2012, 07:11 PM
monsterob monsterob is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: crewe
Posts: 400
Default megasquirt woes !

im still struggling to get an rpm signal to my megasquirt ! im really down in the dumps about it ! ive tried allsorts even bolted a vr sensor and a new 36-1 toothed wheel onto my crank pulley and still no joy the tooth logger doesnt see a signal of a passing tooth either !

anyone got any ideas

gotta sort it soon or im going to start considering the alternative !!! break it to get some cash back !!!!
__________________
theres a box ! im not allowed in it ! i have to think outside !
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3rd September 2012, 08:25 PM
michael92 michael92 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: boston lincolnshire
Posts: 322
Default

what software , code and version are you using ?
I know it sound silly but have yopu 100000% checked your basic settings
engine constants and trigger settings

Michael
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd September 2012, 09:39 PM
monsterob monsterob is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: crewe
Posts: 400
Default

Ms2 extra and im frazzled on the rest i have tried uploading an msq and help file to the ms forum 3 days now and still waiting for a message to say the posts ok for going live !!

Been conversing with phil and ive sent an msq to him this evening the annoying thing is the tunerstudio tooth logger doesnt register teeth or trigger ? Ive tested the sensor the wiring for continuity adjusted the pots ???

Can a ford crank sensor magnet degrade ?? Im thinking as the sensor is second hand may be my issue ?? As ive tried everything else so far !!
__________________
theres a box ! im not allowed in it ! i have to think outside !
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd September 2012, 10:30 PM
AshG's Avatar
AshG AshG is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rochester
Posts: 1,882
Default

it may sound like a daft question but what is your trigger wheel made of. i only ask because i went to help someone that has a similar issue and found the problem immediately. the trigger wheel was made out of ali.

who built the ecu? have you checked the ms board to make sure the correct input path path bridges are in place
__________________
My Roadster Is Finished NerNer.......
Pigs can fly, you just have to carry them onto the plane.

My Pictures
http://s707.photobucket.com/user/ashgardiner/profile/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd September 2012, 11:41 PM
monsterob monsterob is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: crewe
Posts: 400
Default

Ive moved from the std vauxhall wheel as my original sensor was fubar ! The new sensor (oem. ) is no good as the ecu is set for vr not hall effect plus i couldnt find any documentation on the sensor wiring for oem.

Switched to trigger wheels universal trigger wheel ( bought the wideband from them too )and its steel ;-) and sourced x 2 ford sensors from a scrap yard. Both tested ok with the multimeter changing resistance upon waving metal.

I did try retro fitting a ford vr sensor down the old vaux sensor to see if that would work with the std wheel 60-2 and std 114 deg setting
. No joy !

The ecu was built by phil at extra efi and his aftersales is bob on but many thinkers find ye problem ! Ive got to do a data log of the ford sensor in both polaritys tomorrow but i know im not receiving any rpm in either wiring condition

Just really really getting me down now ive overcome some quite large challenges on my build now im being taunted by electronic gremlins !

Soo wish id found a sierra now in the first place ! Would have saved me at least 1k
__________________
theres a box ! im not allowed in it ! i have to think outside !
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th September 2012, 08:08 PM
rich's Avatar
rich rich is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tamworth
Posts: 107
Default

If you have a multimeter, when cranking you shoul see 3-6v ac out the sensor

Last edited by rich : 4th September 2012 at 08:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4th September 2012, 11:35 PM
AshG's Avatar
AshG AshG is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rochester
Posts: 1,882
Default

is it a redtop? their crank angle is 114deg and they have a vr sensor i have set a couple up now. if its a 3 wire sensor one of the three will be a shield wire. if you wasn't so far away i would pop round and get it running for you
__________________
My Roadster Is Finished NerNer.......
Pigs can fly, you just have to carry them onto the plane.

My Pictures
http://s707.photobucket.com/user/ashgardiner/profile/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th September 2012, 10:06 PM
monsterob monsterob is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: crewe
Posts: 400
Default

Ive tested it with a multimeter and fet just over 1v ac when cranking ? Does that indicate a knackered sensor as thats the only thing thats second hand !!
Its an ecotec so rather ghan c20xe its an x20xev same thing basically but less hp by 16 which i think the itb,s should make up with a bloody crank signal !! The original sensor was hall effect new one is vr ford zetec
__________________
theres a box ! im not allowed in it ! i have to think outside !
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th September 2012, 10:37 PM
rich's Avatar
rich rich is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tamworth
Posts: 107
Default

When I played with the mega jolt system I had to play around with the sensor bracket to get a good signal, mounted it as close to the pick up as possible
Are you using descent shielded cable? And earth the shield
Never seen a mega squirt system does it use a edis module to run the ignition or does the mega jolt box control the lot?

Last edited by rich : 5th September 2012 at 10:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5th September 2012, 11:02 PM
rich's Avatar
rich rich is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tamworth
Posts: 107
Default

Sorry it's 0.3-0.6v ac out the sensor, my multimeter is auto range so use to looking at the numbers, so yours sounds in range
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.