Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Engine/transmission
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 8th July 2013, 01:20 PM

Default MX5 on Carbs

Hi, Newbie here with a question, I am just researching what donor to use for a roadster, I like the idea of using the MX5 but i would love to have the engine breathing through twin 40's or 45's, I love the sound.
Does any one know if anyone has done this?
All suggestions greatly recieved.

Neil
Old 9th July 2013, 03:07 AM

I have not came across this before. I suppose best thing to do would be to fabricate an inlet manifold to suit the mx5 head, and your selected carbs, junk the ecu, and take the car to a rolling road to get the carbs set up correctly. It could take some time trying to identify the correct jet sizes. I think that you need to prioritise which is of more importance, mx5 engine or webbers. If you want webbers, go for a pinto. In my opinion, it will cost a lot of money and time, not only to get it all fabricated up nicely, but to get it running correctly. You may have an issue if you junk the ecu on a 1.8 as I believe the engine runs variable valve timing. Best thing would be to ring a company called race shak, based in Tewksbury Gloucestershire. These boys are amazing at stuff like this, and are also main dealers for omex. But it will cost you a load of wedge I am sure ! Happy hunting.
Old 9th July 2013, 07:55 AM

It can be done. There are people with bike carbs on the MX5 forums and they retain the ECU to run the spark. It doesn't get you more power the injection is optimal for power output.

If you want the sound a better bet may be to go for an individual throttle bodies setup and run a megasquirt ECU. Or chuck a crossflow on twin webers in there.

Cheers
Stot
Old 9th July 2013, 08:19 AM

Thanks guys,a bit more thinking time reqd I think!
Old 9th July 2013, 12:33 PM