Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Running gear
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th October 2010, 07:07 PM
David_17's Avatar
David_17 David_17 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Teesside
Posts: 544
Default Attatching cables to pedals.

Just after a bit of advice.

What's the easiest way of fastening the throttle and clutch cables to the pedals?

Any tips would be apreciated.

Cheers
__________________
~

My Build Diary - http://davesroadster.blogspot.com/

*updated 7/6/11*

Best bit so far: Getting it running
Worst bit so far: Cutting steel for wishbones and engine mounts.
Most annoying bit so far: Generator packing up half way through welding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26th October 2010, 07:10 PM
Enoch Enoch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Near Boston, Lincolnshire
Posts: 788
Default

I made up clevis type things for mine. You need the clevis or whatever to be able to rotate on the pedal ideally. Mine are simple affairs made from 1/2 in square steel. The ends of the cable just hook in to one end and the other end has a 6mm diameter bolt going through it and the pedal. I may have a photo somewhere if you need one.
Enoch
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th October 2010, 07:11 PM
David_17's Avatar
David_17 David_17 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Teesside
Posts: 544
Default

Sounds simple enough, pics are always good tho if you have one
__________________
~

My Build Diary - http://davesroadster.blogspot.com/

*updated 7/6/11*

Best bit so far: Getting it running
Worst bit so far: Cutting steel for wishbones and engine mounts.
Most annoying bit so far: Generator packing up half way through welding.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th October 2010, 07:18 PM
mark mark is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Billingham (north east)
Posts: 770
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Enoch View Post
I made up clevis type things for mine. You need the clevis or whatever to be able to rotate on the pedal ideally. Mine are simple affairs made from 1/2 in square steel. The ends of the cable just hook in to one end and the other end has a 6mm diameter bolt going through it and the pedal. I may have a photo somewhere if you need one.
Enoch
Same as what i did, and when you release the tension the end of the cable just lifts out should you need to for whatever reason
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th October 2010, 07:18 PM
Enoch Enoch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Near Boston, Lincolnshire
Posts: 788
Default

Actually, I only used a clevis for the throttle cable, the clutch cable is a capri one that has an end with a 6mm hole through it. Originally I was going to use another cable but found the Capri one much easier to work with. I will see if I can find a decent photo.
Enoch
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th October 2010, 07:19 PM
David_17's Avatar
David_17 David_17 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Teesside
Posts: 544
Default

I've just ordered a capri cable, a pic would be great
__________________
~

My Build Diary - http://davesroadster.blogspot.com/

*updated 7/6/11*

Best bit so far: Getting it running
Worst bit so far: Cutting steel for wishbones and engine mounts.
Most annoying bit so far: Generator packing up half way through welding.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th October 2010, 07:21 PM
flyerncle flyerncle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: gateshead,near cobbly bit of A1 North
Posts: 3,188
Default

Depends on what type of clutch cable you intend to use,some have a round nipple the capri has a round eye as does mine and I intend to weld another piece to the pedal and sandwich the eye in the middle with a hard steel pin.
__________________
Cost : Little as possible.
Thanks : To those who by their generosity my build has progressed.
Its a handmade sports car not a flaming kit car !!!


If at first you dont succeed,avoid skydiving...

No parachute require to freefall,only if you want to do it twice.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th October 2010, 07:49 PM
Spikehaus Spikehaus is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Plymouth, Devon
Posts: 483
Default


Last edited by Spikehaus : 26th October 2010 at 07:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26th October 2010, 07:54 PM
David_17's Avatar
David_17 David_17 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Teesside
Posts: 544
Default

Perfect, thanks. Is your brake piston just an m8 bolt with the head cut off?
__________________
~

My Build Diary - http://davesroadster.blogspot.com/

*updated 7/6/11*

Best bit so far: Getting it running
Worst bit so far: Cutting steel for wishbones and engine mounts.
Most annoying bit so far: Generator packing up half way through welding.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26th October 2010, 08:13 PM
Spikehaus Spikehaus is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Plymouth, Devon
Posts: 483
Default

]

If you use a half thread bolt and clean up the end where you remove the head, it should do the job!

Last edited by Spikehaus : 26th October 2010 at 08:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.