Haynes Forums  

Go Back   Haynes Forums > Haynes Roadster Forums > Electrics
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 24th August 2015, 10:50 PM

Default ECU noob question

So I still need an ECU and was leaning towards mega squirt or emerald.
Being in the states at the moment they have loads of aftermarket electrickery however here in Detroit they have not heard so much of megasquirt or emerald. Most tuners I have spoke with here all recommend greddy.
Now I am a total noob here, there is a brand new top spec greddy e-manage ultimate for half the price of a DIY megasquirt. I know back at home greddy is popular with the jap folk but could this be used for my zetec setup?
Reading online talks about piggy back systems and splicing and then my brain hurts....
Any advice?

Last edited by NeilW : 25th August 2015 at 03:14 AM.
Old 25th August 2015, 10:00 AM

Something you can get support for in the uk,any unknown makes etc could be a problem.

If you can buy Megajolt cheap get one .

If at first you dont succeed,avoid skydiving...

No parachute require to freefall,only if you want to do it twice.
Old 25th August 2015, 11:40 AM

Well last night I managed to chat with some local hotrod racers, they pointed me in the directions of http://www.diyautotune.com
These stock mega squirt in kit or assembled form quite cheap in comparison to the UK.
I sent them a mail asking what type/ad ons I will need for my setup, as far as I am aware a standard v3 unit will be enough?
Old 25th August 2015, 03:21 PM

What are you trying to control? For my Zetec setup I needed to create the extra circuits for PWM idle valve and for the second ignition output. I bought an MS3 kit and soldered it myself. I skipped on the MS3x board to save $100.

If you get a ready-made MS3 with the MS3x board, the extra outputs on there will enable you to drive the PWM idle. As for ignition, you'll be able to use a sequential coil-on plug ignition setup with some VAG coils.